Trending News

Indian T20 League Match 36: Delhi vs Rajasthan Preview – Team News, Probable XI and More

Delhi and Rajasthan have already met once this season in April and at that time, it was the Sanju Samson-led side which emerged victorious in a hard-fought contest by 3 wickets.

Abhinav Goel Author

Updated - 25 September 2021 12:01 am

Match Details

Date: September 25, 2021
Time: 3:30 PM (IST)
Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Live Ball-by-Ball Commentary: SportsTiger App


Rajasthan will aim to continue their winning streak when they take on Delhi in Indian T20 League 2021 on Saturday as the two sides lock horns at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. Both the teams have had good starts to the second half of the season. Delhi are sitting comfortably at the top of the table while Rajasthan needs to get more wins under their belt to qualify for the playoffs.

The two teams have already met once this season in April and at that time it was the Sanju Samson-led side which emerged victorious in a hard-fought contest by 3 wickets. Delhi had scored 147/8 thanks to superb batting from Rishabh Pant (51 off 32). After a poor start, David Miller and Chris Morris steadied Rajasthan’s innings and managed to win the game for their team.

Position in the Indian T20 League standings:

Delhi: Current Position: 1st (14 points in 9 matches)

Rajasthan: Current Position: 5th (8 points in 8 matches)

Team News

Delhi Full Squad:

IN: Kulwant Khejroliya, Ben Dwarshuis | OUT: M Siddharth, Chris Woakes

Rishabh Pant (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Shikhar Dhawan, Shimron Hetmyar, Shreyas Iyer, Steve Smith, Amit Mishra, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan, Ben Dwarshuis, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Kulwant Khejroliya, Lukman Meriwala, Pravin Dubey, Tom Curran, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Ravichandran Ashwin, Sam Billings and Vishnu Vinod.

Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis suffered hamstring injury and his availability is doubtful for this match.

Rajasthan Full Squad:

IN: Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Oshane Thomas, Evin Lewis | OUT: Andrew Tye, Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler

Sanju Samson (Captain), Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahim, Chetan Sakariya, K.C. Cariappa, Kuldip Yadav, Liam Livingstone, Akash Singh, Glenn Phillips, Tabraiz Shamsi, Oshane Thomas, Evin Lewis.

Head to Head (in Indian T20 League)

Matches Played – 23

Delhi – 11

Rajasthan – 12

Key Players

Sanju Samson:
Sanju Samson is the top run-scorer for Rajasthan with 281 runs at a strike rate of 144. He has struck 24 fours and 7 sixes during this season. He has looked in good touch this season but hasn’t been able to stretch his innings long enough. After a below-par performance against Punjab, the Kerala wicket-keeper will look to make amends and play a match-winning knock for his team on Saturday.

Shikhar Dhawan:
The top-scorer of the current season of Indian T20 League was surprisingly left out of India’s T20 World Cup squad. Dhawan overtook KL Rahul as the Orange Cap holder with a 42-run knock against Hyderabad. The southpaw has scored 422 runs at an average of 52.75 and at a strike rate of 131.88. Dhawan has had a stunning season so far and the best way to respond to his World Cup omission will be to continue in the same vein now. The swashbuckling opener will again be at the center of attention against Rajasthan.

Chris Morris:
Rajasthan signed up Chris Morris for a whopping Rs 16.25 crore in the Indian T20 League 2021 auction. The all-rounder was in decent form in the first leg of the season. However, South Africa have left him of their T20 World Cup squad. Pressure to perform will definitely be there on the star all-rounder and his vast experience will play a huge role for Rajasthan this season.

Probable Playing XI

Delhi: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steve Smith, Rishabh Pant (wk) (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan, Ishant Sharma

Rajasthan: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Evin Lewis, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Liam Livingstone, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, Kartik Tyagi


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story