Trending News

Indian T20 League Match 45: Kolkata vs Punjab Preview – Team News, Probable XI and More

In-form Kolkata have won 3 of their 4 matches in UAE this season while faltering Punjab have only been able to muster 1 win in 3 matches in the 2nd half.

Abhinav Goel Author

Updated - 30 September 2021 6:43 pm

Match Details

Date: October 1, 2021
Time: 7:30 PM (IST)
Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium , Dubai
Live Ball-by-Ball Commentary: SportsTiger App


Kolkata will aim to continue their winning streak when they take on Punjab in Indian T20 League 2021 on Thursday as the two sides lock horns at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai. Both the teams have had contrasting second halves of the season so far. In-form Kolkata have won 3 of their 4 matches in UAE this season while faltering Punjab have only been able to muster 1 win in 3 matches in the 2nd half. Although, Kolkata still need to get more wins under their belt to consolidate their 4th place in the points table.

The two teams have already met once this season in April and at that time it was the Eoin Morgan-led side which emerged victorious in a one-sided contest by 5 wickets. Prasidh Krishna’s 3-wicket haul restricted Punjab to a below-par 123/9. Vital contributions from Rahul Tripathi (41) and Eoin Morgan (47*) then  helped Kolkata win the game convincingly with more than 3 overs to spare.

Position in the Indian T20 League standings:

Kolkata: Current Position: 4th (10 points in 11 matches)

Punjab: Current Position: 6th (8 points in 11 matches)

Team News

Punjab Full Squad:

IN: Nathan Ellis, Adil Rashid, Aiden Markram | OUT: Riley Meredith, Jhye Richardson, Dawid Malan

KL Rahul (C), Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Shahrukh Khan, Mohammed Shami, Nathan Ellis, Adil Rashid, Murugan Ashwin, Harpreet Brar, Moises Henriques, Chris Jordan, Aiden Markram, Mandeep Singh, Darsan Nalkande, Prabhsimran Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Jalaj Saxena.

Mayank Agarwal missed out against Delhi due to a stiff back. He is likely to be fit for this game.

Kolkata Full Squad:

Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Eoin Morgan (c), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun CV, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidh Krishna, Shakib Al Hasan, Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora, Karun Nair, Harbhajan Singh, Ben Cutting, Venkatesh Iyer, Pawan Negi.

Andre Russell suffered a hamstring injury in KKR’s match against Chennai Super Kings’ and his availability is doubtful for this clash.

Head to Head (in Indian T20 League)

Matches Played – 28

Kolkata – 19

Punjab– 9

Key Players

KL Rahul:
Last season’s Orange Cap holder has been a proven match-winner for Punjab and Team India in the past few years. He has shown exceptional consistency during this period but he hasn’t performed at the level that he’s capable of in the second-leg so far. Punjab are highly dependent on their skipper and he will again carry a huge responsibility on his shoulders to lead his team to victory against Kolkata.

Shubman Gill:
The right-handed batter was the Kolkata franchise’s leading run-scorer last season, with 440 runs in 14 matches at an average of 33.53. After getting some international experience with Team India, he needs to perform consistently to cement his place in the Indian team. The 22-year-old played a vital 30-run knock against Delhi and would be looking to continue in the same vein.

Venkatesh Iyer:
The 26-year-old Madhya Pradesh player has lit up the Indian T20 League with his stylish batting performances. He has been in brilliant touch and his scores in the tournament read 41*, 53, 18 and 14. Venkatesh Iyer’s batting displays also changed Kolkata’s fortunes in the second phase as the team registered back-to-back wins against Bangalore and Mumbai. The spotlight will again be on the 6-foot 4-inch-tall all-rounder who also contributed with the ball in Kolkata’s last game against Delhi.

Probable Playing XI

Punjab: KL Rahul (c & wk), Mayank Agarwal/Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Hooda, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

Kolkata: Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan (c), Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakaravarthy, Prasidh Krishna


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60