Trending News

IPL 2022 CSK vs GT Match 62 Stats Review: Mohammed Shami’s impressive feat in powerplay and much more

For the first time in IPL history CSK have lost 9 games in an IPL season.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 16 May 2022 1:43 pm

Gujarat Titans defeated Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets and ensured that they seal a place in top 2 of the points table so that they will be playing qualifier 1 of IPL 2022. CSK winning the toss opted to bat first and posted a below par score of 133/5 as none of their batsman found a way to attack GT bowlers.

Wriddhiman Saha ensured GT got a flying start in chase and helped their team to defeat CSK convincingly by anchoring the chase till end of game. Matheesha Pathirana looked very impressive on his IPL debut IPL as he picked up wicket of Shubman Gill on his first ball of the tournament. Another new comer Prashant Solanki also looked very economical with the ball.

Numbers and stats from CSK vs GT game:

4 – CSK have lost all the 4 matches they played at Wankhede Stadium in IPL 2022.

9 – Matheesha Pathirana became 9th bowler to take wicket on first ball of their IPL career.

Bowler to take a wicket in their first ball of IPL career:

Ishant Sharma vs RCB in Bengaluru, 2008
Wilkin Mota vs CSK in Mohali, 2008
Shane Harwood vs Deccan Chargers in Port Elizabeth, 2009
Amit Singh vs PBKS in Durban, 2009
Charl Langeveldt vs RR in Durban, 2009
Ali Murtaza vs RR in Mumbai-BS, 2010
TP Sudhindra vs CSK in Visakhapatnam, 2012
Alzarri Joseph vs SRH in Hyderabad, 2019
Matheesha Pathirana vs GT in Mumbai, 2022

9 – For the first time in IPL history CSK have lost 9 games in an IPL season.

11 – Mohammed Shami has picked 11 wickets in powerplay overs during this season which is joint-most with Mukesh Choudhary.

11 – Ruturaj Gaikwad recorded his 11th fifty-plus score in IPL.

Most fifty-plus scores for CSK in IPL:

Suresh Raina – 34
MS Dhoni – 22
Faf du Plessis – 20
Michael Hussey – 14
S Badrinath / Ruturaj Gaikwad – 11

Most fifty-plus scores in IPL since 2020:

KL Rahul – 16
Faf du Plessis – 13
Shikhar Dhawan – 12
David Warner / Ruturaj Gaikwad – 11

50 – Moeen Ali who won Unacademy let’s crack it sixes award also completed the milestone of smashing 50 sixes in IPL.

4000 – Devon Conway completed 4000 runs in T20 cricket.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story