DC vs RR - IPL - sportstiger

Picture Credit: BCCI/IPL

Rajasthan Royals once again posted a big total on board while batting first with the help of century from Jos Buttler's  century. Jos Buttler and Devdutt Padikkal's 155-run opening partnership helped them to set a platform for RR while Sanju Samson's quick-fire 46 pushed them to 222/2 at end of their innings. None of the Delhi bowlers looked impressive as all of them kept conceding more than 10 runs in an over.

Delhi Capitals chasing 223 runs, started off well to keep their momentum going with required run-rate but they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and Prasidh Krishna's penultimate over played a key role for Royals to seal this game. When 36 was needed for DC to win in the last over, Powell smashed three sixes off first three balls and third ball of last over went onto create a controversy as entire DC team management felt it was a waist high no-ball.

Numbers and stats from DC vs RR game:

1 - Jos Buttler and Devdutt Padikkal recorded the highest partnership (155) for RR in IPL history.

Highest partnership for RR in IPL:

Jos Buttler-Devdutt Padikkal: 155 vs DC in Mumbai, 2022
Ben Stokes-Sanju Samson: 152* vs MI in Abu Dhabi, 2020
Jos Buttler-Sanju Samson: 150 vs SRH in Delhi, 2021

2 - Sanju Samson became second player after Ajinkya Rahane to play 100 matches for RR in IPL.

2 - Jos Buttler became second batsman after Shikhar Dhawan to smash two centuries in two consecutive IPL matches.

2 - Prasidh Krishna became 2nd bowler in IPL (after Lasith Malinga) to bowl a maiden over in 19th over of the innings while defending a target.

3 - Jos Buttler smashed 3rd century of IPL 2022.

Most centuries in an IPL season:

Virat Kohli - 4 in 2016
Jos Buttler - 3 in 2022
Chris Gayle - 2 in 2011
Hashim Amla - 2 in 2017
Shane Watson - 2 in 2018
Shikhar Dhawan - 2 in 2020

4 - Jos Buttler smashed his 4th century in IPL overall.

Most centuries in IPL:

Chris Gayle - 6
Virat Kohli - 5
Shane Watson - 4
David Warner - 4
Jos Buttler - 4

Most centuries for a team in IPL:

Chris Gayle - 5 for RCB
Virat Kohli - 5 for RCB
Jos Buttler - 4 for RR

32 - Jos Buttler has smashed 32 sixes in this IPL season which is already most for a RR player in single season.

222/2 - RR recorded their highest total in IPL while batting first.

2000 - Devdutt Padikkal completed 2000 runs in T20 cricket.

5000 - Skipper Sanju Samson completed 5000 runs in T20 cricket.