Trending News

IPL 2022 Final GT vs RR Stats Review: Hardik Pandya achieves new highs and much more

Hardik Pandya has won all 5 IPL finals that he has played.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 30 May 2022 6:54 pm

Gujarat Titans in their maiden IPL season itself have won the trophy against the inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets in style. GT did a fantabulous job with the ball as they restricted Rajasthan for a total of just 130 runs. Hardik Pandya played a key role in 1st innings of the game as he picked 3 important wickets of Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Shimron Hetmyer which totally dented their batting order and ensured a big collapse for RR.

Gujarat chasing 131 initially faced some hiccups as they were struggling to get runs easily. At one stage GT were reeling at 38/2 from 8 overs but Hardik Pandya’s all-round performance and Shubman Gill’s classy batting at the top ensured Gujarat cross that winning line, and also David Miller played a key role to chase this total. Among RR bowlers Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal looked pretty impressive.

Numbers and stats from GT vs RR game:

2 – GT became 2nd team to win an IPL final in their home ground (Ahmedabad) after CSK in 2011 IPL season. Also GT became 2nd team after RR to win trophy in their maiden IPL season itself.

3/17 – Hardik Pandya recorded his best ever bowling figure (3/17) in his IPL career.

3 – Jos Buttler (863 runs) and Yuzvendra Chahal (27 wickets) won orange and purple cap of the IPL 2022 season respectively.

Players to win both orange and purple cap from same IPL team:

Michael Hussey & Dwayne Bravo for CSK in 2013
David Warner & Bhuvneshwar Kumar for SRH in 2017
Jos Buttler & Yuzvendra Chahal for RR in 2022

3 – Hardik Pandya became 3rd captain to win MoM award in an IPL final after Anil Kumble and Rohit Sharma.

3 – Hardik Pandya became 3rd captain after Shane Warne and Rohit Sharma to win IPL trophy in his 1st IPL season itself as captain.

Least number of matches taken to win an IPL trophy as captain:

Rohit Sharma – 13
Shane Warne / Hardik Pandya – 15
Adam Gilchrist – 24

5 – Hardik Pandya won his 5th IPL final overall. Only Rohit Sharma has won more IPL finals than him and he is 2nd joint-most with Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu for winning most IPL finals overall.

5 – Ravichandran Ashwin lost his 5th IPL final as player. Only MS Dhoni has lost more IPL finals than him and he is 2nd joint-most for losing most IPL finals with Suresh Raina.

Players to lose IPL finals for three different teams:

Shikhar Dhawan for MI, SRH and DC
Ravichandran Ashwin for CSK, DC and RR

7 – Hardik Pandya became 7th captain to win IPL trophy after Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist, MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma and David Warner.

17 – Riyan Parag took 17 catches as fielder in IPL 2022.

Most catches as fielder in an IPL season:

AB de Villiers – 19 in 2016
Riyan Parag – 17 in 2022
Kieron Pollard – 15 in 2017

27 – Yuzvendra Chahal holds the record for taking most wickets (27) by a spinner in an IPL season.

50 – Hardik Pandya completed the milestone of taking 50 wickets in IPL.

157.3 – Lockie Ferguson bowled the fastest delivery (157.3 Kmph) of the IPL 2022 season.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story