Trending News

IPL 2022 LSG vs CSK Match 7 Stats Review: MS Dhoni becomes 6th Indian batsman to smash 7000 runs in T20 cricket

Chennai Super Kings have lost their opening two games of an IPL season for the first time ever in tournament's history.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 1 April 2022 10:59 am

Lucknow Super Giants vs Chennai Super Kings match ended up being a great high scoring thriller between these two teams and in the end Lucknow emerged as winner of this intense battle. CSK batted very well with the likes of starting from Uthappa’s classy knock in the powerplay to Moeen Ali’s quick-fire innings in middle overs and later Dube’s destructive innings along with stylish finish from Dhoni-Jadeja pair helped them to post a total of 210/7 on board. Among Lucknow bowlers Ravi Bishnoi impressed with his sensational spell of 2/24 which comprised of key players like Uthappa and Rayudu.

Lucknow had a great start to the chase as KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock had a 99-run opening partnership between them and later Evin Lewis and Ayush Badoni finished off the things in style for them to seal their 1st ever victory in the Indian Premier League. Evin Lewis’ destructive knock with the bat ensured Lucknow crosses that winning line and most importantly 19th over of the innings bowled by Shivam Dube changed the context of game entirely. Among CSK bowlers Bravo and Dwaine Pretorius looked impressive while Tushar Deshpande and Mukesh Choudhary failed to convert their talent into good performance.

Numbers and stats from LSG vs CSK match:

1 – For the first time in IPL history, CSK have lost their opening two games of an IPL season.

2 – A target of 200-plus has been chased for 2nd time in this IPL season itself, including the one where PBKS chased 206 vs RCB earlier.

Most 200+ totals chased down in an IPL season:

3 times in 2014
2 times in 2010
2 times in 2018
2 times in 2022

3 – For the 3rd time CSK have lost an IPL match despite scoring more than 200 runs in 1st innings of game. Other two instances happened during 2014 vs PBKS and in 2021 vs MI.

171 – Dwayne Bravo became highest wicket-taker (171) in the IPL history.

200 – MS Dhoni became 4th player to take 200 catches in T20 cricket after Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and David Miller.

211 – LSG have chased down 211 against CSK.

Highest target chased down in IPL history:

RR – 224 vs PBKS in Sharjah, 2020
MI – 219 vs CSK in Delhi, 2021
RR – 215 vs Dec in Hyderabad, 2008
LSG – 211 vs CSK in Mumbai-BS, 2022
DC – 209 vs GL in Delhi, 2017

7000 – MS Dhoni became 6th Indian batter to smash more than 7000 runs in T20 cricket.

Indian batsman to score more than 7000 runs in T20 cricket:

Suresh Raina
Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma
Shikhar Dhawan
Robin Uthappa
MS Dhoni


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60