IPL 2022 Mega Auction: Kolkata Knight Riders Team Analysis- History, Squads and More

Here's all you need to know about Kolkata Knight Riders ahead of the mega auction.

Krishang DesaiAuthor

Updated - 07 February 2022 11:38 AM


Kolkata Knights Riders have won the IPL twice back in 2012 and 2014. There is a pretty good fan following of KKR due to its owner Shahrukh Khan. He also knows a franchise in the popular league CPL named Trinbago Knight Riders and holds a major investment in American cricket in partnership with American Cricket Enterprises (ACE).


KKR is a very popular franchise mainly due to its association with celebrity owners. The side's all-time leading run-scorer is Gautam Gambhir and the leading wicket-taker is Sunil Narine. The brand value of the Knight Riders was estimated at $104 million in 2018, second-highest among IPL franchises. In 2019, their value was estimated at ₹629 crores.


The franchise is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta.


KKR have had many captains in the past unlike teams like MI and CSK. Sourav Ganguly was the captain in the first season after which Bredon Mccullum led the side for a year passing it back to Ganguly again. Later in 2011, Gautam Gambhir started leading the side and had a great run with KKR in the first few years. After Gambhir retired, KKR handed the captaincy to Dinesh Kartik in 2018 and later was passed to Eoin Morgan in 2020. KKR will now need to find a new captain for their team having not retained Morgan.

Performance till now:

Kolkata qualified for the PLAYOFFS for the first time in 2011 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. They became the IPL champions in 2012, by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final. They repeated the feat in 2014, defeating Kings XI Punjab. They also hold the record for the longest winning streak by any Indian team in the T20s. In the 2021 edition of the IPL, KKR had a poor start to the season and were placed in the bottom half of the table, but things took a turn when the IPL shifted to UAE and KKR found a new superstar in the name of Venkatesh Iyer who helped them to reach the finals but unfortunately couldn’t win it for them.


Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan(c), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy, Harbhajan Singh, Tim Southee, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi, Kuldeep Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Sheldon Jackson, Sandeep Warrier, Tim Seifert, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Vaibhav Arora


Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer and Varun Chakravarthy .

Strategy for IPL 2022 :

KKR have retained 3 all-rounders and a bowler so they would be Focusing on batsmen in the auction. They would also be searching for a player who can lead their team to their third title. They should go for the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey for captaincy and a player like Dinesh Bana who can don the gloves and provide the late flourish in the innings alongside Andre Russell.



Join our Family Today!