Williamson web S

Picture Credit: Twitter

Gujarat faced their first loss in IPL 2022 to SRH by 8 wickets. Initially, SRH won the toss opted to bowl first on Monday and restricted GT to 162/7 with the help of brilliant spell from Hyderabad bowlers. Hardik Pandya and Abhinav Sadarangani's partnership helped them to post a respectable total on board, with the skipper smashing his 5th fifty-plus score in IPL. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and T.Natarajan picked 2 wickets in their quota each while Umran Malik was clocking 150+ kmph and troubling every batsman in the Gujarat team.

SRH in the chase had a brilliant opening partnership from Abhishek Sharma & Kane Williamson. The duo repeated the same magic that they have created against CSK in the earlier game by playing sensible cricket in first few overs of the game. In the end, Nicholas Pooran finished off the game in style and played a fire power knock off 34 from 18 balls. Lockie Ferguson leaked too many runs at other end which couldn't help their cause despite a decent spell from skipper Hardik Pandya and the former SRH leg spinner Rashid Khan at other end.

Numbers and Stats from SRH vs GT game:

1 - Gujarat Titans have lost their first match of the season in IPL 2022. Hardik Pandya also as Captain lost his first match in IPL.

5 - Hardik Pandya smashed his 5th fifty in IPL. But this remains to be his slowest fifty of all the others in IPL.

Balls taken by Hardik Pandya to complete his fifty in IPL:

25 balls vs KKR, 2015
41 balls vs RCB, 2018
17 balls vs KKR, 2019
20 balls vs RR, 2020
42 balls vs SRH, 2022

6 - Kane Williamson has won MoM award for 6th time in IPL.

Most MoM awards won for SRH in IPL:

David Warner - 12
Rashid Khan - 8
Kane Williamson - 6
Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 5
Jonny Bairstow / Amit Mishra - 4

8 - Hardik Pandya became only 8th Indian Player to smash 100 (or) more sixes in IPL since 2015.

Indian Players who smashed more than 100 Sixes in IPL since 2015 :

KL Rahul
Virat Kohli
Sanju Samson
Rishabh Pant
MS Dhoni
Rohit Sharma
Ambati Rayudu
Hardik Pandya

11 - Kane Williamson recorded his 11th fifty-plus score as captain and equalled the record of Sachin Tendulkar in IPL.

Most fifty-plus score as Captain in IPL:

Virat Kohli - 40
Gautam Gambhir - 31
David Warner - 27
Rohit Sharma - 23
MS Dhoni - 22
KL Rahul - 13
Adam Gilchrist / Virender Sehwag - 12
Sachin Tendulkar / Kane Williamson - 11

Most fifty-plus scores in IPL since 2018:

KL Rahul - 26
AB de Villiers / Shikhar Dhawan  - 18
David Warner - 16
Faf du Plessis / Kane Williamson - 15

17 - Bhuvneshwar Kumar conceded 16 runs (17 runs, with 1 run being a Leg bye) off the first over.

Most runs conceded by a SRH bowler in first over of the innings :

Dale Steyn - 17 vs RCB, 2015 [Innings was reduced to 6 overs]
Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 17 vs GT, 2022
Trent Boult - 13 vs CSK, 2015
Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 13 vs KKR, 2016