Trending News

IPL 2022: Tournament to see 2 DRS per innings; new batter to take strike despite crossover among major changes

With IPL just 11 days away, the tournament has welcomed some new update in the rules.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 15 March 2022 11:59 am

In what comes as a huge news ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has increased the number of referrals per innings from one to two for the forthcoming season of the T20 competition. In addition, there has been a change in rule related to the failure of a team to field an eleven due to COVID-19.

As per the new rule while the first attempt would be to reschedule the match at a later date, if the same is not possible, the decision of the IPL technical committee will be final.

“The BCCI, at its discretion, will attempt to reschedule the match for later in the season,” stated a report by Cricbuzz. “If this is not possible, the issue will be referred to the IPL Technical Committee. The decision of the IPL Technical Committee will be final and binding,” it added.

It is pertinent to note that the previous rules clearly suggested that if a team failed to field a fit eleven, it would be deemed to have lost the match with the opposing team being awarded 2 points.

In yet another huge change made in the IPL, the new batter will take strike irrespective of whether the earlier batters have crossed over or not in case of a caught dismissal unless it is the fresh start to an over. The same was suggested in the new rules by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) but hasn’t been in practice yet in international cricket.

“Upon a catch dismissal, irrespective of whether the batsmen have crossed or not the incoming batsman will take the strike, except if it’s the last ball of the over,” the BCCI stated.

Moreover, if a Super Over or subsequent Super Overs cannot be organised due to some reason within the time available, the team which finished higher in the points table will be adjudged the winner. This rule will govern the decisions only for the Playoff fixtures including the final.

“If conditions do not permit a Super Over, or subsequent Super Overs within the time available to determine the winner as described, then the team which, at the end of the relevant regular season, finished in the higher position in the league table will be deemed the winner of the relevant play-off match,” the official statement reads.

IPL 2022 is set to commence on March 26 with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) taking on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the tournament opener.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60