Trending News

Jason Holder returns as West Indies announce 13-member squad for India ODI series

This tour will see the return of Jason Holder after the Bangladesh tour.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 18 July 2022 11:37 am

West Indies

Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men’s Selection Panel has announced their 13-player squad to face India in the three-game One Day Internationals in Trinidad. Both teams will go head to head for the CG United trophy. The three matches will be played on Friday 22 July, Sunday 24 July and Wednesday 27 July at the Queen’s Park Oval. All matches start at 9:30 am local time (7:00 PM IST).

The Selection Panel has recalled their experienced all-rounder Jason Holder, who returns to the team after being left out of the series against Bangladesh. This decision was taken to help manage his workload as one of the West Indies’ all-format players.

He will be refreshed, re-energized and ready to go: Haynes

The lead selector of the West Indies men’s squad, Dr Desmond Haynes talked about the return of Jason Holder as a more ‘refreshed’ and ‘re-energized’ player. He said, “As we all know Jason is one of the leading all-round cricketers in the world and we’re happy to have him back in the team. He will be refreshed, re-energized and ready to go and we can expect to see his brilliance on the field as well as meaningful contributions off the field as well.”

We will be looking to rebound when we face India: Haynes

Haynes then talked about the Windies’ performance against Bangladesh where they were whitewashed 3-0 in the ODI series after winning the Test and the T20I legs of the series. Haynes added, “We had a very challenging three matches against Bangladesh in Guyana so we will be looking to rebound when we face India in the conditions in Trinidad. We have seen some growth among some players, but overall we need to regroup and play better against the Indians.”

WI squad for India series:

Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales


Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Full Match Schedule

CG United ODI Trophy:

22 July: 1st CG United ODI – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad

24 July: 2nd CG United ODI – Queen’s Park Oval

27 July: 3rd CG United ODI – Queen’s Park Oval


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story