WI name 15-member squad for Sri Lanka Tests - web image - SportsTiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

Cricket West Indies have announced a 15-member squad for the two-Test series in Sri Lanka. Both the Test matches are set to be played at the Galle International Stadium and will be preceded by a four-day warm-up game in Colombo. While the practice match is set to be played from November 14 to 17, the Test matches are lined up on November 21 to 25 and November 29 to December 3.

Left-handed opening batter Jeremy Solozano has received a call-up by the West Indies selection panel owing to his good performances in the recent past. The lead selector while justifying the selection of the uncapped Solozano said that he saw a sense of application, patience, and composure in the 26-year-old. He also added that the southpaw looked comfortable against both spin and pace which was the reason he was picked in the squad.

Notably, Jeremy also played for the West Indies ‘A’ Team in 2019 against India ‘A’ and had done well on that occasion too. Much of the remainder of the squad is along expected lines with Kraigg Brathwaite named as the captain and Jermaine Blackwood to be his deputy.

"The squad is well balanced, with good depth in all departments. The composition is very similar to the squad that brought us success in our last away tour to Bangladesh, with a few changes in personnel," lead selector Roger Harper said as quoted in an official release.

"There are a number of players who are familiar with Sri Lankan conditions and most of the others have good experience in the Indian sub-continent, so they know what to expect and are gearing themselves for it," he added.

The series is the second of six series, three at home and three away, that West Indies have to compete in the second World Test Championship cycle from 2021 to 2023. The inaugural cycle was won by New Zealand earlier this year.

West Indies 15-member squad for 2 Test matches against Sri Lanka:

Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood (vc), Nkrumah Bonner, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Jeremy Solozano, Jomel Warrican