Jorginho wins UEFA men’s player of the year award for 2020-21 season; Alexia Putellas named as best woman player

Chelsea's Thomas Tuchel and Barcelona's Lluis Cortes got the awards for best managers in men's and women's categories respectively.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 27 August 2021 12:41 AM

Jorginho wins UEFA men&#039

UEFA has announced the winners of best players of 2020-21 season during a ceremony held in Istanbul, Turkey on Thursday. Amid the group stage draw announcement for the next season of Champions League, the governing body of football in Europe also revealed the award winners across various categories.

As expected, players from Chelsea and FC Barcelona dominated the ceremony in men's and women's categories respectively. Interestingly, there were no awards for the iconic duo of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, reflecting that the new era in world of football has begun.

UEFA Men's Player of the Year - Jorginho 

In the men's category, Jorginho took home the award for best player which was obvious considering his success with both club (Chelsea) and country (Italy) in last 12 months. The midfielder was chosen by the panel ahead of N'Golo Kante and Kevin de Bruyne for the award.

UEFA Women's Player of the Year - Putellas

In the women's category, Alexia Putellas was the deserving winner without a doubt considering her spectacular season with FC Barcelona and Spain in 2020-21. The 27-year-old got the nod ahead of her Barcelona teammates Jenni Hermoso and Lieke Martens.

Men's Coach of the Year - Thomas Tuchel

Chelsea's Thomas Tuchel took home the award for best men's coach of the year considering his remarkable impact at the Blues where he led them to European glory only after four months since his arrival. The German manager defeated Manchester City's Pep Guardiola and Italy's Roberto Mancini to get the award.

Women's Coach of the Year - Lluis Cortes

FC Barcelona's Lluis Cortes was the undisputable winner for best women's coach of the year considering the club's fantastic campaign in Champions League last season. The other nominees for the award were Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden) and Emma Hayes (Chelsea).

UCL awards for 2020-21 season

The awards for best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forwards for last season of UEFA Champions League were also announced in the ceremony. The list of winners are as follows:

Best Goalkeepers

Men's: Edouard Mendy - Chelsea

Women's: Sandra Panos - Barcelona

Best Defenders

Men's: Ruben Dias - Man City

Women's: Irene Paredes - PSG

Best Midfielders

Men's: N'Golo Kante - Chelsea

Women's: Alexia Putellas - Barcelona

Best Attackers

Men's: Erling Haaland - Borussia Dortmund

Women's: Jennifer Hermose - Barcelona

In a notable mention, Denmark's captain Simon Kjaer and the medical team which saved Christian Eriksen's life during the European Championship received the 2021 UEFA President's Award.


Join our Family Today!