Trending News

Kieron Pollard withdrawn from West Indies’ Pakistan tour due to injury; stand-in captains announced

Pollard will undergo rehabilitation in Trinidad.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 5 December 2021 12:07 pm

Pollard withdraws from Pakistan Tour
  • With Pollard ruled out, Nicholas Pooran will lead the team in the T20Is
  • Shai Hope will lead the West Indies ODI team

Ahead of the West Indies tour of Pakistan, it is now being learned that their white-ball captain Kieron Pollard will not be available for the entire series. This is due to the hamstring injury he sustained in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Post Pollard’s withdrawal, the Cricket West Indies Selection Panel has already announced Devon Thomas as Pollard’s replacement in the ODI squad with Rovman Powell included in the T20I contingent.

It is also being reported that Pollard will undergo rehabilitation in Trinidad under the supervision of the CWI’s Chief Medical officer Dr Israel Dowlat. He will again be assessed in a few weeks’ time ahead of the forthcoming tour of Ireland and England in January 2022.

Nicholas Pooran to lead T20I side, Shai Hope handed ODI captaincy in absence of Pollard

With Pollard not part of the Pakistan series, it is Nicholas Pooran who has been trusted to lead the team in the T20Is. He was also the stand-in skipper when West Indies defeated Australia 4-1 in the five-match T20I series earlier in the year. In addition, Shai Hope will lead the West Indies ODI team.

The Men in Maroon are set to play as many as three T20Is and three ODIs as part of this tour at the Karachi National Stadium from December 13 to 22. The ODI series will be the fourth out of the 12 they have to play as part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in Super League, in which the top seven sides secure automatic qualification for the ODI World Cup in 2023. The Men from the Caribbean are currently at the eighth position but look to win this one and enter the top seven against a solid limited-overs Pakistan team who reached the semifinals of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Revised squads:


Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.


Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story