Trending News

KKR to face CSK in final for the 2nd time; CSK’s not so good record in IPL final and more

KKR skipper Eoin Morgan became the first player to register 3 ducks against the same team (Delhi Capitals) in single IPL season.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 14 October 2021 4:16 pm

KKR to face CSK in final

Kolkata ended up winning a last-over thriller against Delhi in qualifier-2 of IPL 2021 and ensured they will play Chennai in the finals of IPL 2021. Despite being in a dominant position in most stages of the game, Kolkata choked in the last 4 overs of the match and found themselves in a tough position from nowhere. At one stage, KKR were at 123/1 and from there, they ended up being reduced to 130/7 at the end of 19.4 overs. When Kolkata needed 6 to win from 2 balls, Rahul Tripathi smashed a beautiful six off Ashwin’s bowling to help his side get past the winning line.

Initially, Kolkata invited Delhi to bat first, none of the Delhi batsmen got going and struggled to score runs on the slow pitch. Only Prithvi Shaw and Shimron Hetmyer in their very short stay ensured they played aggressive enough to keep the scoreboard ticking and in the end, ensured Delhi posted 135/5 in 20 overs. Kolkata were cruising in this chase with 96 runs opening partnership from Venkatesh Iyer & Shubman Gill. Kolkata looked like winning the match easily but suddenly the game had a twist and KKR came out on top in a thrilling fashion.

Numbers and Stats from DC vs KKR game:

3 – KKR have reached the IPL finals for the 3rd time overall.

Teams to reach finals most times in IPL history:

CSK – 9 (2008, 2010-2013, 2015, 2018, 2019 & 2021)
MI – 6 (2010, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020)
RCB – 3 (2009, 2011 & 2016)
KKR – 3 (2012, 2014 & 2021)

Notably CSK have won only 3 out of their 8 finals in the past IPL seasons, while KKR have ended up winning an IPL trophy whenever they reached the finals before.

3 – Delhi Capitals are the only team to not play IPL finals despite ending up as table toppers three times.

Most times not playing IPL finals despite being table toppers:

Delhi Capitals – 3 (2009, 2012 & 2021)
Gujarat Lions – 1 (2016)

3 – Since 2011 (After the Qualifier system was introduced), KKR remains to be only the 3rd team to play IPL finals despite not being in the top-2 position on the points table.

Since 2011, Teams to play IPL finals despite not being in top-2 position at points table:

Chennai Super Kings (2012)
Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016)
Kolkata Knight Riders (2021)

3 – Eoin Morgan became the first player to score 3 ducks against the same team (Delhi Capitals) in an IPL season.

Morgan scores vs DC in IPL 2021:

0(2) in Ahmedabad
0(2) in Sharjah
0(3) in Sharjah

3 – Venkatesh Iyer has smashed most fifty-plus scores (3) for KKR in IPL 2021.

Most fifty-plus scores in IPL 2021 at UAE Venue:

Glenn Maxwell – 4
Ruturaj Gaikwad – 3
Venkatesh Iyer – 3

9 – After 9 years, KKR will face CSK again in the IPL finals for the 2nd time overall. In 2012, CSK being 4th placed team defeated MI in eliminator and DC in Qualifier-2 to face KKR in the finals. In 2021, KKR being 4th placed team defeated RCB in eliminator and DC in Qualifier-2 to face CSK in the Finals.

9 – Delhi Capitals have lost 9 playoffs (or) semi-final game in IPL history.

Delhi Capitals in IPL Playoffs (or) Semifinals vs Teams (Other than SRH):

Played: 9
Lost: 9


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60