Trending News

KL Rahul to lead India as BCCI announce squad for five-match T20I series against South Africa

Several senior players including Rohit Sharma have been rested for the South Africa series.

Abhishek Sandikar Author

Updated - 22 May 2022 10:05 pm

The Board for Cricket Control in India (BCCI) has announced the squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa where KL Rahul will be the captain. The bilateral series comprises five T20Is and is set to start in Delhi with the second match to be played in Cuttack. Vizag will host the third game. Then the fourth match will be played in Rajkot and the series finale in Bengaluru at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.  

As reported by InsideSport, India and Mumbai captains Rohit Sharma had requested the BCCI for a break and was rested for the South Africa series. The decision to take this break came as the selectors wanted to keep a few senior players in the squad. Similarly, Sharma has struggled with form and the break would help him get ready for the England tour. 

“Yes, Rohit asked for a break and it’s understandable. He played all the games for Mumbai Indians and it takes a toll especially when the team doesn’t do well. We understand that. We want him fresh for the England tour,” a senior BCCI official told.

“It’s only a minor adjustment,” Sharma

Recently while talking to PTI, Rohit Sharma addressed how he can get out of this bad run of form. He expressed how this hasn’t been the first time he has experienced struggles in his career. HE said, “A lot of things that I wanted to do didn’t happen.”

“But this has happened with me earlier as well, so it’s not something I am going through for the first time. I know cricket doesn’t end here; there is a lot of cricket ahead. So I need to take care of the mental aspect and think about how I can return to form and perform. It’s only a minor adjustment and I will try to work on that whenever there is some time off.”

India Test squad for rescheduled fifth Test against England

India’s squad for five-match T20Is:

KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story