Lanka Premier League rescheduled, second edition to kick off from Nov 19

The Lanka Premier League 2021, which was expected to commence on the 29th July 2021, has been rescheduled and will now take place from 19th November to 12th December 2021.

Abhinav Mishra Author

Updated - 9 July 2021 10:52 pm

Sri Lanka Cricket have confirmed the new dates of the second edition of Lanka Premier League. The league which was originally planned to commence from 29th of July, has now been rescheduled to take place from 19th November to 12th December 2021. The rescheduling of the league has taken place because the Governing Council of the Lanka Premier League is of the view that rescheduling the tournament will enable more players from leading cricket-playing nations to take part in the league.

Players from Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh and England had registered for the league

Most of the players from Pakistan, West Indies and Bangladesh will be representing their countries in the month of August, the same time the LPL was originally scheduled. Bangladesh play against Zimbabwe and Australia while Pakistan is touring England. West Indies will host Australia as well. The Innovative Production Group, the LPL Event Rights Holder, supports the decision of the SLC.

“IPG supports SLC’s decision to postpone the second edition of LPL. The success of the League is of paramount importance. We thank the SLC, Sri Lankan Government, players, franchisees, and sponsors for their support,” said Mr. Anil Mohan, Founder, and CEO of Innovative Production Group FZE, the official promoters of the LPL.

The first season of LPL was held last year in December at the MRICS, Hambantota where five teams participated. Jaffna Stallions won the inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League where they defeated Galle Gladiators in the final.