Picture Credit: Twitter

Former India cricketers Mohammad Kaif and Stuart Binny have joined the India Maharajas team for the inaugural season of the Legends League Cricket. The first edition of the tournament meant exclusively for the retired cricketers is all set to get underway in Muscat, Oman from January 20.

Earlier, players like Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, and Harbhajan Singh were already confirmed to have joined the India Maharaja team.

"Mohammad Kaif and Stuart Binny's contribution to the Indian cricket is huge and likewise, I feel they will also have an immense role to play in the league as well. I am looking forward to watching them play the Legends League Cricket," former India coach and Commissioner of Legends League Cricket, Ravi Shastri was quoted as saying in a media release.

"We are excited to have Mohammed Kaif and Stuart Binny on board in the India Maharaja team. Their inclusions will bring in a lot of experience and diversity. I am sure they will set the atmosphere on fire," said Raman Raheja, CEO of Legends League Cricket.

Legends League Cricket 2022 will witness former cricketers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England among other countries. They have been divided into three teams that will fight for ultimate glory in a T20-format competition. These teams are namely- India Maharajas, Asia Lions and World Giants.

Read More: Legends League Cricket 2022: When and Where to watch the tournament in India

Meanwhile, Vivek Khushalani, Co-founder and promoter of the sporting tournament, had said that it would be no less than a dream come true for countless fans to see old cricketing rivalries reignite.

"The brainstorming sessions gave us huge excitement, the thought of seeing Legends playing for team India once again gave a different high. As sports enthusiasts, we have spent our lives watching them play and win matches for India and with LLC, billions of fans can relive those dreams," Khushalani said in an initial statement.

Here are the fixtures:

20 January 2022 - India Maharajas vs Asia Lions

21 January 2022 - World Giants vs Asia Lions

22 January 2022 - World Giants vs India Maharajas

24 January 2022 - Asia Lions vs India Maharajas

26 January 2022 - India Maharajas vs World Giants

27 January 2022 - Asia Lions vs World Giants

29 January 2022 - Final