Picture Credit: Twitter

The inaugural season of the Legends League Cricket (LLC) is just around the corner. The competition is set to begin on January 20 and while there is excitement among fans to see their favourite retired cricketer get back on the cricket field, there was little clarity until a few days ago as to who all will actually take the field.

However, as the first matchday comes near, it is getting clearer as to who all will be able to make it for the first season of the T20 competition. It is the World Giants LLC squad that has been announced with no more puzzles to be solved. Their team consists of legends like Kevin Pietersen, Jonty Rhodes, Brett Lee along with Daniel Vettori, Kevin O'Brien and Herschelle Gibbs among others.

For the unversed, the Legends League Cricket 2022 is set to witness former cricketers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England among other countries compete against each other. The players from these nations have been divided into three teams namely- India Maharajas, Asia Lions and World Giants.

Read More: Legends League Cricket 2022: When and Where to watch the tournament in India

Meanwhile, Vivek Khushalani, Co-founder and promoter of the sporting tournament, had said that it would be no less than a dream come true for countless fans to see old cricketing rivalries reignite.

"The brainstorming sessions gave us huge excitement, the thought of seeing Legends playing for team India once again gave a different high. As sports enthusiasts, we have spent our lives watching them play and win matches for India and with LLC, billions of fans can relive those dreams," Khushalani said in an initial statement.

Here are the fixtures:

20 January 2022 - India Maharajas vs Asia Lions

21 January 2022 - World Giants vs Asia Lions

22 January 2022 - World Giants vs India Maharajas

24 January 2022 - Asia Lions vs India Maharajas

26 January 2022 - India Maharajas vs World Giants

27 January 2022 - Asia Lions vs World Giants

29 January 2022 - Final

World Giants Squad 2022: Kevin Pietersen, Jonty Rhodes, Brett Lee, Daren Sammy, Herschelle Gibbs, Imran Tahir, Daniel Vettori, Corey Anderson, Morne Morkel, Brad Haddin, Kevin O'Brien, Brendan Taylor, Monty Panesar, Albie Morkel, Owais Shah