Lungi Ngidi

Picture Credit: Twitter

Star South Africa pacer Lungi Ngidi has tested positive for Coronavirus ahead of his side's three-match ODI series against the Netherlands. As a result, the fast bowler has been forced to withdraw from the Proteas' home series against the Dutch. Cricket South Africa has informed that Ngidi "is well and in good spirits" and added that its medical team is monitoring the pacer's physical progress and metal well-being. Meanwhile, Junior Dala has replaced the player in the squad for the series against Netherlands.

The series between the sides kicks off on November 26 with the second and third ODI set to take place on November 28 and December 1. It is worth noting that right-arm fast bowler of South Africa Lizaad Williams will also miss the series as he has picked up an intercostal muscle strain. However, his replacement has not been announced yet.

The home series for South Africa will also see their six of the first-choice ODI players - captain Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje - missing the games as the players have been rested. Meanwhile, in the absence of Bavuma, Keshav Maharaj would be leading the side.

It is worth noting that Wayne Parnell is back into the South Africa national squad. He had last played for the Proteas in 2017. "I didn't set out my store to say I am coming back into South African cricket and I want to play for the Proteas again," Parnell had said at press conference on his return.

"I was quite happy coming back to Western Province and trying to add value in their environment. But then it led to these bigger things. For me, I don't have any expectations... He (Victor Mpitsang, convener of selectors) asked me if I was interested to play international cricket and I said I cannot turn down my country. I am fully committed to the path going forward," he had added.

Updated South Africa squad: Keshav Maharaj (capt), Daryn Dupavillon, Zubayr Hamza, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Junior Dala, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Khaya Zondo