Trending News

Mumbai Indians record their highest-ever total in IPL history and much more

Ishan Kishan smashed fastest ever fifty for MI in IPL history while Suryakumar Yadav recorded his highest IPL score of 82 (40).

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 9 October 2021 11:03 am

Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav

Despite not being able to qualify for the IPL 2021 Playoffs, MI managed to end this season on a high note with a 48 run victory against SRH. Mumbai had a very clear intent to go for attack from 1st ball of the game and ensured they posted a humongous total of 235/9. Ishan Kishan smashed a 16-ball fifty for his side to give the initial momentum while Suryakumar Yadav’s classy knock of 82 from 40 balls ensured they posted a huge total.

In the 2nd innings, Mumbai needed to ensure that Hyderabad were bundled out for 65 runs or below for them to qualify in the IPL 2021 playoffs but Sunrisers smashed 66/1 in just 5.5 overs and knocked out Mumbai from the playoff race. Jason Roy and Abhishek Sharma provided  a good start to the Hyderabad side and post that, Manish Pandey played a captain’s knock of 69*(41) along with Priyam Garg’s handy contribution of 29 runs from 21 balls.

Numbers and Stats from MI vs SRH game:

3 – SRH have used 3 captains in this IPL 2021 season.

Teams to use 3 captains in an IPL season:

MI – Harbhajan Singh, Shaun Pollock & Sachin Tendulkar [2008]
PWI – Aaron Finch, Angelo Mathews & Ross Taylor [2013]
SRH – David Warner, Kane Williamson & Manish Pandey [2021]

16 – Ishan Kishan smashed fastest ever fifty for MI in IPL history.

Fastest fifty in IPL history:

KL Rahul – 14 balls vs DC in Punjab, 2018
Yusuf Pathan – 15 balls vs SRH in Kolkata, 2014
Sunil Narine – 15 balls vs RCB in Bengaluru, 2017
Suresh Raina – 16 balls vs PBKS in Mumbai, 2014
Ishan Kishan – 16 balls vs SRH in Abu Dhabi, 2021

235/9 – MI recorded their highest score ever in the IPL history.

Highest score in the IPL history:

RCB – 263/5 vs PWI in Bengaluru, 2013
RCB – 248/3 vs GL in Bengaluru, 2016
CSK – 246/5 vs RR in Chennai, 2010
KKR – 245/6 vs PBKS in Indore, 2018
CSK – 240/5 vs PBKS in Mohali, 2008
RCB – 235/1 vs MI in Mumbai, 2015
MI – 235/9 vs SRH in Abu Dhabi, 2021

82 – Suryakumar Yadav recorded his highest score of 82(40) in IPL.

Highest score for Suryakumar Yadav in IPL:

82 vs SRH in Abu Dhabi, 2021
79* vs RR in Abu Dhabi, 2020
79* vs RCB in Abu Dhabi, 2020

83/1 – MI scored 83/1 in powerplay against SRH.

Highest powerplay score for MI in IPL:

84/0 vs DC in Mumbai, 2018
83/1 vs SRH in Abu Dhabi, 2021
82/1 vs PBKS in Indore, 2017

5 – Mohammad Nabi became first fielder (non-wicketkeeper) to take 5 catches in an IPL match.

131/3 – MI recorded 131/3 at the end of 10 overs which is joint-highest score for any team in the first 10 overs of the innings. PBKS also smashed 131/3 after first 10 overs against SRH in IPL 2014.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60