NBA Summer League 2021: All You Need to Know – Teams, Venue, Format and more

Unlike the regular NBA Season, the Summer League does not run for long, it is rather only a 10-day competition.

Yakshpat BhargavaAuthor

Updated - 17 August 2021 05:22 PM

2 (35)

A plethora of rookie, sophomore, college and G League players gather to play in the NBA Summer League. However, this league does not feature the regular NBA Stars on the court, but a host of young, talented and energetic players who are put to test before the start of the next NBA Season. Not only that but the majority of these players have been picked up in the NBA Draft by different teams and will participate in this pro event for the first time.

Unlike the regular NBA Season, the Summer League does not run for long, it is rather only a 10-day competition. After the chaos caused by the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the NBA Summer League returned after 2019. There are 30 teams that participate in this league, having to play 5 matches apiece. With a tournament spread over 10 days, there are 75 matches scheduled for the basketball fanatics to enjoy.

For those who are not aware, this league will feature all the top NBA Draft picks, from Cade Cunningham to Jalen Green to Scottie Barnes. Lastly, Brandon Clarke is the reigning NBA Summer League and the Championship MVP as he played a significant role in 2019 to help the Memphis Grizzlies lift the prestigious silverware. Having similarities with the usual NBA format, the top two teams after the stipulated games lock horns to determine the Champion in a one-off contest.

Where is the NBA Summer League being held?

The 2021 NBA Summer League is held at Thomas & Mack Center and Cox Pavilion on the campus of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

What is the Format of NBA Summer League?

This 10-day tournament contests 75 games, where each team will feature in 5 scheduled matches. After which the top two best teams will contest in the one-off Championship game. In case if there is a tie, the governing body will break it by considering other factors including, head-to-head result, point differential etc.

Which Teams Have Won the NBA Summer League Previously?

YearLocationWinning TeamScoreRunners UpChampionship MVP
2014Las VegasSacramento Kings77–68Houston RocketsRay McCallum Jr
2015Las VegasSan Antonio Spurs93–90Phoenix SunsJonathon Simmons
2016Las VegasChicago Bulls84–82Minnesota TimberwolvesJerian Grant
2017Las VegasLos Angeles Lakers110–98Portland Trail BlazersKyle Kuzma
2018Las VegasPortland Trail Blazers91–73Los Angeles LakersK.J. McDaniels
2019Las VegasMemphis Grizzlies95–92Minnesota TimberwolvesBrandon Clarke



Join our Family Today!