Trending News

New Zealand announce squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Adam Milne has also been included in the squad as injury cover

Aditya Kumar Editor

Updated - 11 August 2021 3:48 pm

New Zealand have announced a 16-member squad (including cover) for the upcoming T20 World Cup slated to take place in UAE and Oman. The team includes the likes of captain Kane Williamson, star opener Devon Conway and in-form all-rounder Kyle Jamieson. It is worth noting that it is Adam Milne who has been included in the side as injury cover.

Here is New Zealand squad for World Cup 2021:

Kane Williamson, Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne (injury cover)

Meanwhile, New Zealand also announced the squads for the T20I series against Bangladesh and Pakistan. It is worth noting that the selected 16 players for the mega event have not been considered for five T20Is against the Tigers starting September 2, and the three ODIs in Pakistan starting September 17.

Martin Guptill, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Todd Astle and Ish Sodhi will join the national team for the five T20I matches against Pakistan starting September 25, while the IPL-bound Kiwi players will join the team ahead of the World Cup.

New Zealand squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs: Latham (c), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Blundell, Doug Bracewell, de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Henry (ODI only), Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Tickner, Will Young

New Zealand squad for Pakistan T20Is: Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell,Mark Chapman, de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears,Blair Tickner, Will Young

T20 World Cup 2021 moved out of India due to COVID-19

The coveted T20 tournament will take place in UAE and Oman due to the COVID-19 pandemic in India. Although the marquee will take place across four venues- the Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Sharjah Stadium, and Oman Cricket Academy Ground, the BCCI has retained the hosting rights.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story