The Champions Trophy is finally going to be back after eight years, since its last edition, which took place in 2017. The defending champions, Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy in 2025, where the matches will be played across three cities, Lahore, Karachi and Rawalpindi. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the tentative Champions Trophy 2025 schedule, which is yet to be finalised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). 

As per the tentative dates, the tournament will begin with a match between Pakistan and New Zealand at the Karachi National Stadium on February 19, 2025, while the final will be played at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on March 9, 2025. 

The teams which finished at the top eight in the league stage of the 2023 ODI World Cup in India along with the hosts Pakistan, qualified for the Champion Trophy 2025. The eight teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each. Total 12 games will be played in the group stage and the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The two teams winning the semi-final will be playing in the final, set to be played in Lahore on March 9. 

Here’s the list of the venues, tentative groups and the schedule for the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule (Tentative)

February 19th: Pakistan vs New Zealand, Karachi
February 20th: India vs Bangladesh, Lahore
February 21st: Afghanistan vs South Africa, Karachi
February 22nd: Australia vs England, Lahore
February 23rd: India vs New Zealand, Lahore
February 24th: Pakistan vs Bangladesh, Rawalpindi
February 25th: Afghanistan vs England, Lahore
February 26th: South Africa vs Australia, Rawalpindi
February 27th: Bangladesh vs New Zealand, Lahore
February 28th: Afghanistan vs Australia, Rawalpindi
March 1st: Pakistan vs India, Lahore
March 2nd: South Africa vs England, Rawalpindi
March 5th: Semi Final 1st (TBC vs TBC), Karachi 
March 6th: Semi Final 2nd (TBC vs TBC), Rawalpindi
March 9th: Final (TBC vs TBC), Lahore

Champions Trophy 2025 Venues

Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
Karachi National Stadium, Karachi
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Champions Trophy 2025 Groups (Tentative)

Group A Group B
Bangladesh  Afghanistan 
India Australia
New Zealand England
Pakistan  South Africa

Champions Trophy 2025: FAQ's

Q1: In which format will the Champions Trophy 2025 be played?/What will be the format of 2025 Champions Trophy?

The Champions Trophy will be played in the 50-over format among top eight teams of the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Q2: Will India travel to Pakistan for the 2025 Champions Trophy?

The Indian government is yet to make any official announcement regarding Indian cricket team’s travel to Pakistan for the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Q3: Will Virat Kohli play the Champions Trophy 2025?

Virat Kohli, who announced retirement from the T20Is post India’s 2024 T20 World Cup triumph, will be seen in action against during the Champions Trophy 2025.

Q4: Will Rohit Sharma play the Champions Trophy 2025?

After leading India to their second T20 World Cup in 2024, Rohit Sharma has bid adieu to the T20I format and will be seen leading Men in Blue in the Champions Trophy 2025.

Q5: Will the Champions Trophy take place in Pakistan?

The Champions Trophy 2025 is set to be held in Pakistan from February 19th to March 9th, next year.