Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

If reports are to be believed , Cheteshwar Pujara is set to be Team India’s vice-captain in the forthcoming World Test Championship Final 2021-23 against Australia. The top two Test playing teams will lock horns at the WTC Final, set to be played at the Oval in London from June 7.


Although the Broad of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has not yet named Rohit Sharma’s deputy for the WTC Final but as per reports, he will be named when the Indian board submits the final squad on May 23. “Pujara will be the vice-captain. Everyone is aware of that but it’s not officially mentioned. When we send the final squad to ICC, he will be named the vice-captain,” a BCCI source was quoted by InsideSport.

Also Read:  BCCI names Ishan Kishan as KL Rahul's replacement


The 35-year-old is currently leading the Cricket County Club Sussex in the ongoing County Championship and will join the Indian side after a short break. “Pujara will get a short break to recharge his batteries before joining the final. He has been playing constant cricket and needs to freshen up before the final. He should be joining the camp on May 28-29,” the BCCI source was further quoted by InsideSport.


The middle-order batter is currently featuring in the County Division Two where Sussex is playing Leicestershire at the Grace Road, Leicester. He scored 128-ball 77 in the first innings with the team currently crossing the 350-run mark after 100 overs.


Talking about the Indian squad, recently wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan replaced injured KL Rahul in the squad for the WTC Final. It is to be noted that Ishan Kishan was earlier named a standby player along with Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav.


India’s squad for WTC final:  Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk).

Standby players : Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, Surya kumar Yadav.