China to host World Table Tennis Champions and WTT Cup Finals in October

The Indian Table Tennis team is expected to leave for Chengdu on 25 September.

Abhishek SandikarAuthor

Updated - 15 September 2022 07:16 PM


World Table Tennis (WTT) has stated that the WTT Champions and WTT Cup Finals will be held in China in October after the Chengdu 2022 ITTF World Team Table Tennis Championships. The WTT Champions in Macao will bring together the top 30 men and women TT players from the ITTF world rankings published on 23 August with two wild cards From 19 to 23 October.

This will be the last opportunity for players to earn ranking points and qualify for the WTT Cup Finals to be held in Xinxiang, central China’s Henan Province. The WTT Cup Finals will provide a stage for the best 16 men and women players to compete between October 27 and 30. Both events will feature men’s and women’s competitions simultaneously, with only a main draw knockout phase as per Xinhua.

“There will be two marquee WTT events in China following the ITTF World Team Table Tennis Championships Finals in Chengdu, so the table tennis craze will continue for a long time, which is very beneficial to the promotion of this sport," said Liu Guoliang, WTT board member and Council Chair.

“We expect players from all over the world to fully explore and experience China’s history, culture and customs by participating through the Chengdu ITTF World Team Table Tennis Championships Finals, WTT Champions Macao and WTT Cup Finals Xinxiang," said Liu, also president of the Chinese Table Tennis Association.

After a successful CWG 2022 campaign, the Indian Table Tennis squad was announced for the World Table Tennis Championships 2022. The country’s top table tennis player, Sharath Kamal will be out of this event, citing personal reasons. The 40-year-old won the gold medal in the men’s singles table tennis in Birmingham. The Indian Table Tennis team is expected to leave for Chengdu on 25 September.

I ndian Squad for World Table Tennis Championships 2022:

Men: G Sathiyan, Sanil Shetty, Harmeet Desai, Manush Shah, and Manav Thakkar.

Women: Manika Batra, Sreeja Akula, Reeth Rishya, Diya Chitale and Swastika Ghosh.

Coaches: S Raman and Anindita Chakraborty/Chris Adrian Pfeiffer (personal coach).

Masseur: Harmeet Kaur.


Join our Family Today!