Cricket South Africa announces 16-man squad Test series against Australia

The tour is set to start at the Gabba in Brisbane on December 17.

Abhishek SandikarAuthor

Updated - 14 November 2022 03:21 PM


Cricket South Africa has announced the 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against Australia. The tour is set to start at the Gabba in Brisbane on December 17. The Proteas will leave for Australia on December 1. Eight days after their arrival down under, Dean Elgar’s men will play an unofficial four-day match against Cricket Australia XI from December 9 – 12. 


The practice game will be played at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane and then will get ready for the first Test at Gabba. The South African team will see a few new faces and changes for the bilateral series. Fast bowler Gerald Coetzee has earned his maiden call-up for the tour after an impressive performance for his domestic team. 

Whereas wicketkeeper Ryan Rickelton, who was part of the Test series against England in September, will not be part of the squad because of an ankle injury. Similarly, top-order batter Keegan Petersen will also miss the Australia tour after sustaining a severe hamstring injury. He suffered the injury during the CSA T20 Challenge final.

National Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang talked about the team. He welcomed back the vice-captain Temba Bavuma and Rassie Van Der Dussen, who return to the Test side after injury. Mpitsang also expressed excitement about the pace attack. He said, “We are pleased with the group of players that have been assembled for this tour.”

“I think the selectors now have a core group of Proteas that has been built and it is just about building on what we have. There is a welcome return for our vice-captain Temba after his injury and we are also happy to have Rassie back too following his finger injury in England. I am especially excited about our pace attack, which is no doubt growing in stature and strength,” he further continued. 

South Africa Test squad against Australia:

Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma, Gerald Coetzee, Theunis de Bruyn , Sarel Erwee, Simon Harmer, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Glenton Stuurman, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo.

Tests Series Schedule:

December 17 – 21

Australia vs South Africa – The Gabba, Brisbane

December 26 – 30

Australia vs South Africa – MCG, Melbourne

January 4 – 8

Australia vs South Africa – SCG, Sydney


Join our Family Today!