The Hundred is easily one of the most exciting tournaments for many cricket enthusiasts out there. This year, the league will be back in August, and as early as now, it’s shaping up to be bigger and better.

So, if you’re someone looking forward to this cricket event, you better keep reading. Whether you’re simply a fan stoked to see how the tournament unfolds, or you’re into  c ricket betting, we have all the information you need.

Let’s get right to it.

Overview of the Hundred

The Hundred, a revolutionary tournament in the world of cricket, was first introduced in 2020 and has quickly gained immense popularity. The competition features eight men's and eight women's teams situated in major cities across England and Wales. 

In addition, it’s managed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and only started in 2021.

Designed to provide an engaging spectator experience, each match in The Hundred approximately lasts around two-and-a-half hours.

The teams go head-to-head in a high-energy format played over a single innings of 100 balls. The matches are designed to be quick and action-packed, lasting around two and a half hours. 

Here's how it works:

  • Each team gets 100 balls to score runs and set a target.
  • After every 10 balls, the fielding team switches ends to ensure fairness.
  • Bowlers have the choice to deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls.
  • Each bowler can bowl 20 balls max in the game.
  • Teams can call for a strategic time-out of up to two and a half minutes.
  • At the start of each inning, there is a powerplay of 25 balls where only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle.
  • If a batsman is caught out, the non-striker must return to their original end.
  • No-balls result in two runs and a free hit for the batting team.
  • Slow over-rates are penalized by having one fewer fielder outside the circle during the final over.

List of Players for The Hundred 2023

Curious to know which cricketers will be participating this year? Here is the list of members for each team in the men’s and women’s squads:

Men’s Squads:

Birmingham Phoenix:

Chris Woakes (England), Shadab Khan (Pakistan), Adam Milne (New Zealand), Kane Richardson (Australia), Moeen Ali, Ben Duckett, Liam Livingstone, Benny Howell, Will Smeed, Jamie Smith, Tom Helm, Miles Hammond, Chris Benjamin, Dan Mousley

London Spirit:

Mark Wood (England), Mitchell Marsh (Australia), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Nathan Ellis (Australia), Olly Stone, Liam Dawson, Dan Lawrence, Zak Crawley, Jordan Thompson, Mason Crane, Adam Rossington, Chris Wood, Ravi Bopara, Michael Pepper

Manchester Originals:

Jos Buttler (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Ashton Turner (Australia), Josh Little (Ireland), Phil Salt, Laurie Evans, Jamie Overton, Tom Hartley, Richard Gleeson, Paul Walter, Josh Tongue, Wayne Madsen, Tom Lammonby, Mitchell Stanley

Northern Superchargers:

Ben Stokes (England), Michael Bracewell (New Zealand), Wayne Parnell (South Africa), David Wiese (Namibia), Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Reece Topley, Tom Banton, Adam Lyth, Adam Hose, Brydon Carse, Matthew Potts, Bas de Leede, Callum Parkinson

Oval Invincibles:

Sam Curran (England), Sunil Narine (West Indies), Heinrich Klaasen (South Africa), Ihsanullah Khan (Pakistan), Will Jacks, Jason Roy, Tom Curran, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Ross Whiteley, Jordan Cox, Gus Atkinson, Danny Briggs, Nathan Sowter

Southern Brave:

Jofra Archer (England), Tim David (Australia), Devon Conway (New Zealand), Finn Allen (New Zealand), Leus du Plooy, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Rehan Ahmed, Craig Overton, George Garton, James Fuller, Alex Davies, Joe Weatherley

Trent Rockets:

Joe Root (England), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Colin Munro (New Zealand), Daniel Sams (Australia), Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Dawid Malan, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Luke Wood, Sam Cook, Samit Patel, Sam Hain, Brad Wheal, Matt Carter

Welsh Fire:

Jonny Bairstow (England), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan), Glenn Phillips (New Zealand), Haris Rauf (Pakistan), Tom Abell, David Willey, Joe Clarke, Ollie Pope, David Payne, Roelof van der Merwe, Jake Ball, Stephen Eskinazi, Dan Douthwaite, George Scrimshaw

Women's Squads:

Birmingham Phoenix:

Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Erin Burns (Australia), Amy Jones, Issy Wong, Emily Arlott, Hannah Baker, Katie Levick, Eve Jones, Abtaha Maqsood, Chloe Brewer, Sterre Kalis

London Spirit:

Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Grace Harris (Australia), Heather Knight, Charlie Dean, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Sophie Munro, Sophie Luff, Grace Scrivens, Tara Norris, Niamh Holland

Manchester Originals:

Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Australia), Sophie Ecclestone, Emma Lamb, Ellie Threlkeld, Kathryn Bryce, Alex Hartley, Natalie Brown, Georgie Boyce, Cordelia Griffith

Northern Superchargers:

Laura Kimmince (Australia), Alyssa Healy (Australia), Hollie Armitage, Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Beth Langston, Katie Levick, Linsey Smith, Phoebe Graham, Kalea Moore, Rachel Slater

Oval Invincibles:

Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Sarah Bryce, Alice Capsey, Georgia Adams, Eva Gray, Jo Gardner, Rhianna Southby, Grace Gibbs, Danielle Gregory, Megan Belt, Shabnim Ismail

Southern Brave:

Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Smriti Mandhana (India), Danni Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley, Maia Bouchier, Fi Morris, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Paige Scholfield, Tara Norris, Lauren Bell, Charlotte Taylor, Sonia Odedra

Trent Rockets:

Nat Sciver, Katherine Brunt, Katherine Brunt (England), Sammy-Jo Johnson (Australia), Abbey Freeborn, Nancy Harman, Lucy Higham, Lucy Inglis, Michaela Kirk, Teresa Graves, Ella Claridge

Welsh Fire:

Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Meg Lanning (Australia), Bryony Smith, Sophie Luff, Georgia Redmayne, Alice Macleod, Alex Griffiths, Lissy Macleod, Katie George, Nicole Harvey, Piepa Cleary

Venue and Schedule

This year’s edition of The Hundred will be kicking off on August 1, 2023 (Tuesday). The Men’s and Women’s competitions will start on the same day as a doubleheader. 

Trent Rockets will go head-to-head with Southern Brave as the tournament’s opener. Meanwhile, the Final is scheduled on August 27, 2023, and will be held at Lord’s.

The tournament will be held in various venues throughout England and Wales. Here are all the venues they’ll be playing this season:

  • OldTrafford

  • Lord’s

  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground

  • Headingley Cricket Ground

  • The Oval

  • The Rose Bowl

  • Trent Bridge

  • Sophia Gardens  

Wrapping Up 

The Hundred 2023 promises to be an exciting cricket tournament. The presence of renowned international players alongside local talents amplifies the level of competition and raises the excitement quotient. Any cricket fan will agree it’s an event no one should miss out on.