'Happy Birthday Beta' trends on Twitter as Pakistan celebrates 75th Independence Day; sports fans react

India-Pakistan game will be the curtain-raiser to the Super 12 stage of the Men's T20 Cricket World in 2021.

Saurabh GangulyAuthor

Updated - 14 August 2021 12:44 PM


Pakistan is celebrating its 75th independence day on Saturday- a day before India observes the same. Although the strained political relations between the two countries have made it a tense situation with regards to the cross-border situations, the general populace in both the South Asian countries like taking a dig at each other. While India and its sports fans do not waste any opportunity to boast of the country's perfect record over Pakistan in cricket World Cups, Pakistan fans also ensure that they return the favour when the Indian cricket team faces a defeat to the Men in Green in the important events.

And now the Indian netizens have found a way to take a dig at Pakistan by trending '#HappyBirthdayBeta' on social media on the occasion of latter's Independence Day.

Check out some of the Tweets here:

Earlier, while sharing a post on the country's independence, cricketer Kamran Akamal failed to notice that the spelling of independence in his post was wrong as it was spelled as "Indepence". This led to Kamran receiving all kinds of flak for his negligence.

Meanwhile, it has already been confirmed that the contest between Virat Kohli-led India and Babar Azam's Pakistan in the T20 World Cup later this year will happen on October 24, Sunday. With the event set to begin on October 17, the qualifying round will conclude on October 23 and the India-Pakistan game will then be the curtain-raiser to the Super 12 stage.

The ICC has already announced the groups for both Round 1 (qualifying) and Super 12 (group stages). While 8 teams - India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Afghanistan - have secured qualification, four teams will join them in Super 12 after the qualifying phase. In a latest update, the participating nations have been asked to submit their squads for the mega event by September 10.

Despite BCCI being the host of the tournament,  the competition is set to be conducted in UAE and Oman across the four venues: Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Sharjah Stadium, and Oman Cricket Academy Ground. The tournament has been shifted out of India keeping in mind the COVID-19 situation in the country.


Join our Family Today!