Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The Indian cricket team has reached the American shores to participate in the T20 World Cup 2024 starting from June 1 onwards. After winning inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, India have been one of the most accomplished teams in the T20I format, but they haven’t won the coveted title in the last 16 years or so.

The 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup wasn’t one of the best tournaments for India in their illustrious cricketing history, losing the semi-final in a one-sided contest against England. Rohit Sharma, who was the captain of India in the T20 World Cup two years ago, is set to lead them once again in yet another ICC tournament, but this time, he will be looking to take the team over the finishing line for their first major title in more than a decade.

In this article, SportsTiger compares India’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad with the T20 World Cup 2022 side, to find how close the team could get to winning the coveted trophy once again.


2022: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav

2022 rohit sharma c kl rahul virat kohli suryakumar yadav

The captain of India, Rohit Sharma, and his opening partner KL Rahul didn’t live up to their full potential in the T20 World Cup 2022, which put constant pressure on the middle order to deliver the good match after match. Virat Kohil and Suryakumar Yadav were the two of the best batters for India in the entire tournament, but their runs didn’t prove to be enough for the national team in winning the big one.

2024: Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav

2024 rohit sharma c yashasvi jaiswal virat kohli suryakumar yadav

Rohit Sharma will be captaining the Indian cricket team in the T20 World Cup 2024, but this time around, he will be batting alongside Yashasvi Jaiswal, who is one of the best T20 openers going around, with an aim to bat more aggressively and consistently at the same time at the top of the order. Virat Kohli and Suryakumar will be looking to deliver big scores on a regular basis in the upcoming tournament, to replicate their heroics from the last edition.