mohammed siraj smriti mandhana babar azam sportstiger

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday (24 Jan) announced the ODI teams for both Men’s and Women’s cricket. While two Indian players found a place in the Men’s ODI team of the year, three Indians were included in the Women’s team. Pakistan captain Babar Azam was named the captain of the Men’s team. Meanwhile, India’s Harmanpreet Kaur was chosen as the skipper for the Women’s team.

Talking about the Men’s ODI team of the year, along with two Indians and one Pakistani, there are two players each from Australia, New Zealand, and West Indies. Meanwhile, one player each from Bangladesh and Zimbabwe was included in the Men’s ODI team of the year. 

From India, Mohammed Siraj and Shreyas Iyer were the two players to get a place in the Team of the Year. Both players were the top performers for India in their respective departments in 2022. Meanwhile, Trent Boult and Tom Latham were the two players from New Zealand with Travis Head and Adam Zampa being the two Australians. Shai Hope and Alzarri Joseph were the players from West Indies.

Men’s ODI Team of the Year (2022): Babar Azam (c), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wk), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa

Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Renuka Singh in Women’s Team

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur, opening batter Smriti Mandhana and pacer Renuka Singh were the three Indians get included in the Women’s Team of the Year. Australia’s Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney also found a place in the XI. 

Women’s ODI Team of the Year (2022): Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana, Laura Wolvaardt, Nat Sciver, Beth Mooney, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Amelia Kerr, Sophie Ecclestone, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Renuka Singh