ind vs aus stts review sportstiger

India have won the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 by a 2-1 margin and they also qualified for WTC 2023 finals after Sri Lanka lost their first Test to New Zealand. Talking about this 4th Test match between India and Australia, both teams scored a huge amount of runs on this batting paradise with centuries from batters like Usman Khawaja, Cameron Green, Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli. Thus, finally, this game ended in a draw without a result for either of the teams. 

Numbers and Stats from IND vs AUS 4th Test, Day-5:

2 -
India qualified for the Final of the World Test Championship for 2nd time consecutively.

WTC Finals in 
2021 - IND vs NZ
2023 - AUS vs IND

Teams to qualify for ICC Finals most times

Australia - 12
India - 11

Indian men's senior team reaching ICC Finals in 

ODI WC - 1983, 2003, 2011
CT - 2000, 2002, 2013, 2017
T20 WC - 2007, 2014
WTC - 2021, 2023

4 -
India have won 4 Border-Gavaskar Trophy series in a row against Australia.

India in the last four Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series:
India beat Australia by 2-1 in 2017
India beat Australia by 2-1 in 2018/19
India beat Australia by 2-1 in 2020/21
India beat Australia by 2-1 in 2023

7 -
In the last 10 years (since 2013), only 7 times India have played drawn Test matches on their home soil.

Drawn Tests for India in last 10 years (since 2013) on their home soil:
IND vs SA in Bengaluru, 2015
IND vs ENG in Rajkot, 2016
IND vs AUS in Ranchi, 2017
IND vs SL in Kolkata, 2017
IND vs SL in Delhi, 2017
IND vs NZ in Kanpur, 2021
IND vs AUS in Ahmedabad, 2023

7 - Rohit Sharma became 7th Indian Captain to win Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Indian Captains to win Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series:
Sachin Tendulkar in 1996
Mohammad Azharuddin in 1998
Sourav Ganguly in 2001
MS Dhoni in 2008, 2010, and 2013
Virat Kohli in 2017, 2018/19
Ajinkya Rahane in 2017 (decider), 2020/21
Rohit Sharma in 2023

10 - Virat Kohli has won the Man of the match award for the 10th time in Test Cricket.

Most Man of the Match Award won for India in Test Cricket:
Sachin Tendulkar - 14
Rahul Dravid - 11
Anil Kumble - 10
Virat Kohli - 10

Virat Kohli is the only player to win 10 Man of the Match award in all 3 formats (Test, ODI, T20I)

10 -
Ravichandran Ashwin has won Man of the Series award for 10th time in Test Cricket.

Most Man of the Series Awards won in Test Cricket:
Muralitharan - 11
Ravi Ashwin - 10

The above two Players are the only ones to win 10 Man of the Series award in Test Cricket.

25 -
Ravi Ashwin has taken the most wickets (25) in Border-Gavaskar 2023.

Most wickets by an Indian in Border-Gavaskar Trophy series on home soil:
Harbhajan Singh - 32 in 2001
Ravichandran Ashwin - 29 in 2013
Anil Kumble - 27 in 2004
Ravindra Jadeja - 25 in 2017
Ravichandran Ashwin - 25 in 2023