Match Details

Date: 07 January 2023
Time: 07:00 PM IST
Venue: Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
Ball-by-ball commentary: SportsTiger App


India will face Sri Lanka in the final fixture of the three-match T20I series on Saturday (January 7) in Rajkot. Both matches of the series have witnessed close finishes, with the series levelled 1-1. In the second game, the visitors managed to post a mammoth total of 206 on the board, with contributions from Dasun Shanaka (56*) and Kusal Mendis (52). Umran Malik was the pick of the bowlers with three scalps for the home team.

In reply, India got off to a bad start and were stuttering at 57/5 in the 10th over. However, the terrific knocks from Axar Patel (65) and Suryakumar Yadav (51) brought India back into the game. But eventually, India fell short of 16 runs.

Weather Report

 ind vs sl 3rd t20i weather

Pitch Report

A total of four T20I matches have been played at this venue, and the average score batting first is 180. The stats are 2-2 in terms of teams winning by chasing or winning, depicting that the pitch will stay the same throughout the game.


It has been a batters’ paradise in the last two games of the series, and the same is expected in this game as well. The likes of Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka and Dasun Shanaka can be looked upon as the key batters for Sri Lanka. On the other hand, India will rely on the contributions of Suryakumar Yadav and Axar Patel in the batting department.

The pacers have picked the most wickets in the last few games at Rajkot, and players like Dilshan Madushanka and Kasun Rajitha can be on your radar from Sri Lanka. In the Indian bowling unit, Umran Malik is breathing fire, while Shivam Mavi will be useful in the powerplay.

Playing XIs

India: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Rahul Tripathi, Hardik Pandya (c), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

People’s Pick for Fantasy

ind vs sl 3rd t20i people s pick

Grand League team

ind vs sl 3rd t20i grand league

Head-to-head team

ind vs sl 3rd t20i head to head

Best 14

Wicketkeepers: Kusal Medis, Ishan Kishan
Batters: Suryakumar Yadav, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Deepak Hooda, Charith Asalanka
All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Axar Patel
Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Dilshan Madushanka

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the author’s point of view. They neither reflect the opinion of SportsTiger nor advise anyone to make any prediction based on this. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility and liability for the same.