India vs South Africa: Power supply to Greenfield Stadium stopped over pending bills worth 2.5 Crore ahead of 1st T20I

BCCI has announced a 15-member squad for the three T20Is against South Africa.

Ritesh PathakAuthor

Updated - 20 September 2022 10:35 AM


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced Team India’s itinerary before the team flies to Australia for the T20 World Cup. The Men in Blue will be playing a three-match T20I series against Australia starting on September 20. They will then host South Africa for a three-match T20I series which will be followed by a three-match ODI series.

The three T20Is against South Africa will be hosted across three different venues in Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, and Indore. While the first game will be played at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram, the second and third T20Is will be played at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati and Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore respectively. 

However, it seems the first T20I between India and South Africa may face some disruptions in terms of power supply. According to a report, the Greenfield International Stadium has pending electricity bills that go over 2 crores and hence the power supply at the venue has been stopped by the concerned authorities. 

BCCI has announced a 15-member squad for the three T20Is against South Africa. Rohit Sharma will lead the Men in Blue while KL Rahul will play his deputy. India’s star pacer Jasprit Bumrah has made a return to the T20I side after giving Asia Cup 2022 a miss. Harshal Patel has also returned after recovering from an injury. The Indian cricket board is yet to name the ODI squad. 

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Shami, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.

South Africa’s squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Mahara, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.


Join our Family Today!