Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The Indian men’s team featuring young lads like Arshdeep Singh, and Shubman Gill and stars like Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, and Suryakumar Yadav have pulled their socks and are all set to put on their best show at the T20 World Cup 2024. The ninth edition of the cricketing showpiece will begin on June 1 and go on till June 30 in the USA and West Indies. 

As cricketing action is about to go live in a few days, let’s recall how India performed at the 2010 edition of the tournament. 

The 2010 T20 World Cup was the third edition of the tournament and was hosted in the West Indies. India had won the inaugural edition, and Pakistan were the winner in the second edition, held in England in 2009. 

India’s 2010 T20 World Cup Squad

Like previous seasons, MS Dhoni was once again named the captain of the squad to represent India in the West Indies.

India’s compete squad for T20 World Cup 2010: 

MS Dhoni (Captain), Virender Sehwag (Vice Captain), Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, R Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Dinesh Karthik

India’s placement and performance

The Men in Blue, who were aiming to make a stronger comeback after a forgetful outing in the previous season were grouped along with South Africa and Afghanistan in Group C. 

  • India opened their campaign against Afghanistan on May 1 and registered an easy seven-wicket win over their counterparts. 
  • Later, on May 2, India were scheduled to play against South Africa, where the previous winners clinched victory by 14 runs. As a result of the win, India qualified for the Super 8s. The game also saw Suresh Raina becoming the third man, the second in the T20 World Cup, and the first Indian to hit a century in a T20I game. 

Super 8s

In the Super 8s stage, India were grouped alongside Australia, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies.

  • In their first match of the Super 8s, India went down to Australia by 49 runs. The second game also turned out to be a disappointing affair for MS Dhoni and Co. as they were defeated by West Indies by 14 runs. 
  • In their third and last game of the season, Sri Lanka took down India by a margin of five wickets. With their continuous losses, the Men in Blue once again failed to qualify for the semifinals. 
  • Eventually, England were crowned the champions after they defeated Australia in the final by a margin of seven wickets.