Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The T20 World Cup 2024 set to kickstart in a few days' time in the USA and the Caribbean. The tournament, which will host its ninth edition, will begin on June 1 with the final scheduled on June 29 and the Rohit Sharma-led Team India will aim to bring back the coveted title home this time around.

As the cricketing extravaganza begins, here in this article, we’ll recall India’s performance in the 2012 edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The 2012 T20 World Cup was the fourth edition of the tournament and was hosted in Sri Lanka. India, on the other hand had won the inaugural edition of the tournament, while Pakistan claimed the 2009 World Cup. The third edition was won by England, which was hosted in the West Indies. 

India’s 2012 T20 World Cup squad

Just like the previous three editions, MS Dhoni continued to lead the Men in Blue in the 2012 ICC World Twenty20.

India’s complete squad for T20 World Cup 2012: 

MS Dhoni (Captain), Gautam Gambhir (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Irfan Pathan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Ashok Dinda, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan.

India’s placement and performance

The Men in Blue, who had won the inaugural edition of the tournament were aiming to replicate their past performances as they were placed in Group A, alongside England and Afghanistan.

India opened their campaign against Afghanistan on September 19 and registered a comprehensive 23-run win over their counterparts. 

Later, on September 23, India were scheduled to play against the defending champions England at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. MS Dhoni-led Team India registered a win by 90 runs, and as a result of the win, India qualified for the Super 8s.  

Super 8s

In the Super 8s stage, India were grouped alongside Australia, and Pakistan.

In their first match of the Super 8s, India went down to Australia by nine wickets. In their second game, the MS Dhoni and Co. defeated Pakistan by eight wickets and they then went on to beat South Africa by one-run in the third Super 8s match. Despite their win in two out of the three matches, India crashed out of the tournament as they finished third in the Group 2 after Australia and Pakistan.  

Eventually, West Indies were crowned the champions after they defeated the hosts, Sri Lanka in the final by a margin of 36 runs. While Shane Watson from Australia was the top run-getter with 249 runs, Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendia was the leading wicket-taker with 15 scalps. Moreover, Shane Watson was also named the Player of the Tournament.