Picture Credit: BCCI/IPL

Picture Credit: BCCI/IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by five runs in match number 47 of IPL 2023 in Hyderabad with the help of brilliant death bowling from Varun Chakravarthy, who bowled three out of the last five overs in the second innings and helped KKR to defend 38 runs off five overs. Kolkata posted 171/9 in the first innings with the help of decent scores from Nitish Rana and Rinku Singh. SRH was in a very comfortable position in this run-chase as Markram, Klaasen, and Tripathi did well with the bat, but in the end, they choked this run-chase as batters at the back end failed to read the mystery spin of Varun Chakravarthy.

Numbers and stats from SRH vs KKR game: 

4 -
Varun Chakravarthy has won the Player of the Match award for the fourth time in the IPL.

Most times winning Player of the Match award for KKR in IPL since 2020:
Varun Chakravarthy - 4

Sunil Narine - 3
Shubman Gill - 2
Umesh Yadav - 2
Shivam Mavi - 2
Pat Cummins - 2
Venkatesh Iyer - 2
Rinku Singh - 2

Instances of Varun Chakravarthy winning the Player of the Match award in IPL:
5/20 vs DC in Abu Dhabi, 2020
3/13 vs RCB in Abu Dhabi, 2021
3/27 vs RCB in Bengaluru, 2023
1/20 vs SRH in Hyderabad, 2023

4 -
Nitish Rana became the fourth batsman to complete 2000 runs (2019) for KKR in the IPL after Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, and Andre Russell. 

Most runs for KKR in IPL:
Gautam Gambhir - 3035
Robin Uthappa - 2439
Andre Russell - 2143
Nitish Rana - 2019

4 - KKR have defeated SRH for the fourth time at Hyderabad in IPL out of seven instances.

SRH vs KKR in IPL at Hyderabad:
2013 - SRH won by 5 wickets
2014 - KKR won by 7 wickets
2016 - KKR won by 8 wickets
2017 - SRH won by 48 runs
2018 - KKR won by 5 wickets
2019 - SRH won by 9 wickets
2023 - KKR won by 5 runs

5 - SRH defeated KKR by five runs in this match.

Lowest margin of win (by runs) for KKR in the IPL:
2 runs vs RCB in Sharjah, 2014
2 runs vs PBKS in Abu Dhabi, 2020
5 runs vs RCB in Kolkata, 2008
5 runs vs SRH in Hyderabad, 2023

7 -
KKR have used seven different opening pairs in the first ten games of IPL 2023.

KKR opening pairs in the IPL:
Mandeep Singh-Rahmanullah Gurbaz
Venkatesh Iyer-Rahmanullah Gurbaz
N Jagadeesan-Rahamanullah Gurbaz
Jason Roy-Litton Das
N Jagadeesan-Sunil Narine
N Jagadeesan-Jason Roy
Jason Roy-Rahmanullah Gurbaz 

17 -
Andre Russell has taken 17 wickets against SRH in IPL.

Most wickets vs SRH in IPL:
Yuzvendra Chahal - 24
Dwayne Bravo - 22
Andre Russell - 17
Jasprit Bumrah / Kagiso Rabada / Axar Patel - 16

Andre Russell also completed the milestone of smashing 600 sixes in T20 cricket.

32 - Bhuvneshwar Kumar has taken 32 wickets against KKR in the IPL. 

Most wickets against KKR in the IPL:
Umesh Yadav - 34 vs PBKS
Dwayne Bravo - 33 vs MI
Sunil Narine - 33 vs PBKS
Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 32 vs KKR

Unfortunately, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has batted 34 games in an IPL run chase, and in all those instances he has ended in the losing side.