Match Details

Date: May 1, 2024

Time: 7:30 PM IST

Venue: M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai 

Live Ball-By-Ball Commentary: SportsTiger App

Match Preview:

Chennai Super Kings will host the Punjab Kings in a thrilling  IPL 2024  clash at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. Both teams have had contrasting seasons but registered resounding victories in their previous fixtures. Punjab pulled off the highest chase in T20 history against the Kolkata Knight Riders. On the other hand, Chennai became the first team to all-out the roaring Sunrisers Hyderabad this season.

Weather Report for May 1, 2024

weather report

Pitch Report

pitch report


The Chennai Super Kings returned to winning ways after demolishing Sunrisers Hyderabad by 78 runs at home. The CSK batting which seemed out-of-sorts returned to top form with the misfiring Daryl Mitchell scoring his first 50 of the season. On the bowling front, CSK continued their age-old strategy of picking up wickets in each phase and bundled out SRH for the first time this season.

On the other hand, the Punjab Kings have discovered some incredible players in a topsy-turvy season which saw the side win three games from nine games. The PBKS batting, which completed the highest chase in T20 history, will receive a massive boost with the return of captain Shikhar Dhawan. In contrast, the bowling has shown glimpses of brilliance but has lacked consistency.

Key Players

key players

Author’s Picks

author s picks

Probable XIs

Chennai Super Kings

Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Daryl Mitchell, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wk), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana

Impact Substitute: Shardul Thakur (if bowling first, replaces Shivam Dube)

Punjab Kings

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Rilee Rossouw,  Shashank Singh, Ashutosh Sharma, Sam Curran, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar.

Impact Substitute: Arshdeep Singh (if bowling first, replaces Rilee Rossouw)

Fantasy Teams

Grand League

grand league


head to head

Best 14

Wicketkeepers: Jonny Bairstow

Batters: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prabhsimran Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, Shashank Singh, Shivam Dube

All-Rounders: Sam Curran, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers: Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Arshdeep Singh, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana

Disclaimer: The cricket fantasy tips and facts expressed within this article are the author's personal opinions. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.