Jos Buttler picks his All-time IPL XI, snubs Shane Watson, Chris Gayle

Buttler has been Rajasthan Royal's core member since 2018.

Umang SinghAuthor

Updated - 16 May 2021 07:12 PM


BCCI deferred IPL for an unknown period, and players have moved back to their respective homelands. However, before the suspension, RR's top player Jos Buttler scored a blistering 124 against SRH in his last match. Recently Buttler was involved in a conversation with Harsha Bhogle. During the discussion, Bhogle asked Jos to create his dream IPL XI which must include Buttler himself. 

Buttler picked himself and Rohit Sharma as openers; they both like to get on top of the bowlers from the start and will be a great combination.

For number 3, he decided to go with Virat Kohli, who is excellent at pacing innings as per the situation. He picked another RCB player for no.4 as AB de Villiers, the big hitter can change the game's tempo anytime he wants.

He gave the 5th spot to MS Dhoni, one of the best readers of the game and capable of finishing the game in style.

England wicketkeeper chose big-hitter Kieron Pollard at no.6 due to his time spent at Mumbai Indians and ability to destroy any bowling attack on his day.

Ravindra Jadeja and Harbhajan Singh fill the 7th & 8th spot on Buttler's list. 

Buttler picked Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga for 9th, 10th and 11th place, respectively, due to their ability to bowl at the death.

No Chris Gayle or Shane Watson in Buttler's All-time IPL XI

Although Jos picked a strong XI, he omitted the likes of Chris Gayle and Shane Watson. Both the players are one of the most successful players in the IPL. The Universe Boss holds the record for maximum runs (13898) in T20 matches and is 7th on the list of leading run-scorer in IPL with 4950 runs.

On the other hand, Shane Watson won 2 IPL MVP awards in IPL (2008, 2013). The former Australian all-rounder has been a great performer in the IPL with 3874 runs and 92 wickets in 145 matches. 


Join our Family Today!