Credit: X

Credit: X

Twenty20 cricket has changed the dynamics of the sport completely around the globe. The impact of the shortest cricket format has spread across the world, and owing to the excitement it brings, several nations have also come up with their leagues. One of the major advantages or positive impacts that the format has brought is how result-oriented cricket has become. 

The biggest event in the world of T20 cricket is the  T20 World Cup, which started in 2007. Since then, the ICC has hosted eight editions of the marquee cricketing contest and is ready to host the ninth. The 2024 edition of the tournament will be played from June 1 to June 30. In the previous seasons of the cricketing event, several captains have had the honour of leading their side to the ultimate glory. 

Complete list of T20 World Cup-winning captains

In this article, we will discuss the list of captains who have won the T20 World Cups. 

T20 World Cup 2007- India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni

ms dhoni 2

After an unsuccessful campaign at the 2007 ODI World Cup, several senior players opted out of the T20 World Cup. A young  MS Dhoni was handed over the job, and as they say, the rest is history. MS Dhoni not only guided the side to the first-ever T20 World Cup win but also went on to become India’s most successful captain. 

In the final of the 2007 edition of the T20 World Cup, India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan by 5 runs.