The former Wimbledon champion and World No. 2 Novak Djokovic has been fined USD 8,000 for smashing his racquet against the net during the Wimbledon final. The Serbian who went down against the reigning champion and World No. 1 Carlos Alcaraz was seen smashing his racquet against the nets in the fifth set over an unlikely point to Alcaraz.
However, this gesture of Novak hasn’t got down well with the organisers and the All England Club as he has been charged USD 8,000 (£6,117). To elaborate more, this incident took place in the fifth set of his defeat, when his serve was broken in the third game. However, umpire Fergus Murphy issued a warning towards Djokovic for a code violation before he eventually lost 1-6, 7-6(6), 6-1, 3-6, 6-4 to Carlos Alcaraz in a hard fought battle of four hours and 42 minutes.
The fine was imposed on Monday, July 17 and will be deducted from his runner-up cheque of £1.175 million.
Frustration in the moment: Novak Djokovic
Remarking the incident, 23-time Grand Slam winner described it as “frustration in the moment”. Furthermore, he refused to apologise stating, “There’s not much to talk about that. Second one was frustration. I had break points in the second game. Yeah, just tough, tough couple of points. He played amazing to break my serve, which was enough to win the fifth.”
“The first one was the time violation, so yeah. Not a great moment again, but you just kind have to accept it,” he further added.