Sanju Samson and Suryakumar Yadav set to be in India's playing XI for Ireland T20Is

Reports have also suggested that middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav will be part of the final squad. 

Aakash SrivastavaAuthor

Updated - 24 June 2022 08:48 PM


In a significant development, Team India wicket-keeper batter Sanju Samson is set to be part of the playing XI in place of regular wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant in the two-match T20I series against Ireland, starting Sunday. Reports have also suggested that middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav will also be a part of the final squad.

While Sanju Samson is making a comeback after an impressive performance in IPL 2022 and in the absence of regular player Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav has recovered from the wrist injury that he sustained during India's T20 domestic tournament and has been going through rehabilitation at National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

Notably, NCA head and former India cricketer VVS Laxman will take the responsibility of head coach during the Ireland tour as Rahul Dravid has joined the Indian squad for England tour.

Speaking of Sanju Samson, the wicket-keeper batter delivered an impressive performance in IPL 2022 as he also led Rajasthan Royals to the summit clash. He scored 458 runs in 17 innings with an average of 28 and a strike rate of 146.79.

Chennai Super Kings opener Ruturaj Gaikwad who has been hot and cold in recent time will get another chance at the top-order in the absence of regular openers Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. Meanwhile, Ishan Kishan has cemented his position as an opener and is expected to provide a solid foundation against the relatively weak Ireland side.

Hardik Pandya, who has made a remarkable comeback in the blue jersey after taking his side Gujarat Titans to win IPL 2022 on debut season, will lead the squad in Ireland. Wicket-keeper batter Dinesh Karthik will also be part of the scheme after he continued his impressive form in the recently concluded five-match T20I bilateral series against South Africa.

The two-match T20I bilateral series will kick start on 26th June at Malahide Cricket Club, Ireland, followed by the second and final match scheduled to take place on 28th June.


Join our Family Today!