Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

The Badminton Association of India (BAI) has published the dates for the selection trials to choose the squad for the upcoming Asian Games 2023 in September. The 19th edition of the multi-sport event will be held in Hangzhou, China. The trials will be held at the Jwala Gutta Academy from May 4 till May 7 in Telangana. PV Sindhu, HS Prannoy, Treesa Jolly & Gayatri Gopichand and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty have earned direct qualification from the Indian contingent owing to their spot in the BWF rankings. 

“The deadline for sending confirmation of participation in the final Selection Trials to BAI is 5 PM on Friday, April 28th, 2023," BAI said. The Badminton Association of India has also issued an elaborate list of players who are eligible to appear for the final selections. 

Priyanshu Rajawat, the Orleans Masters champion and former Singapore Open champion Sai Praneeth and Mithun Manjunath will also be part of the trials. Surprisingly, Anupama Upadhyaya, the national champion in women's singles, was not named in the final selection trials list for singles. Instead, Saina Nehwal, who skipped the selection process, gets a place. Aakarshi Kashyap, who lost in the national championship final, is also on the list.

The final list of the eligible players is as follows:
Men’s Singles: Priyanshu Rajawat, Kidambi Srikanth, Bharat Raghav, Maisnam Meiraba, Lakshya Sen, Mithun Manjunath, B.Sai Praneeth, Arisal Yadav and Siddhant Gupta.

Women’s Singles: Malvika Bansod, Saina Nehwal, Aakarshi Kashyap.

Men’s Doubles: Nithin HV & Sai Pratheek, MR Arjun & Dhruv Kapila, Krishna Prasad & Vishuvardhan, Suraj Goala & Pruthvi Roy, Kushal Raj & Prakash Raj

Women’s Doubles: Tanisha Crasto & Ashwini Ponnappa, Radhika Sharma & Tanvi Sharma, Ashwini Bhat & Shikha Gautham

Mixed Doubles : Sai Pratheek & Tanisha Crasto, Rohan Kapoor & Sikki Reddy, Hariharan & Varshini, Hemagendra Babu & Kanika Kanwal