Sergio Perez handed 5-second penalty for Safety Car infringement post Singapore GP win

Ferrari’s duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz finished second and third respectively to complete the podium alongside Checo at the Singapore Grand Prix.

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 03 October 2022 11:53 AM

sergio-perez-f1-sportstiger

Singapore Grand Prix winner Sergio Perez has been handed five-second penalty post winning the race on Sunday (October 2).  The Mexican driver was kept in check after finishing on top at the Singapore Grand Prix for alleged Safety Car infringement.

He was notably investigated for two incidents for failing to keep within ten car lengths of the Safety Car during a pair of caution period. The first instance took place during Lap 10 of the final race when Zhou Guanya and Nicholas Latifi made a contact. During this time, Perez claimed that his brakes and tyre weren’t warm enough seeing the damp conditions.

Later during the second instance, the Mexican Red Bull driver was handed five second penalty and two penalty points. The stewards ruled out violation of Article 55.10 of the FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations. Notably as stated in the rulings, it "requires that the leader must keep within 10 car lengths of the Safety Car once deployed until the lights are extinguished.”

However, in the closing stages of the Sunday’s race Perez was informed of the check for infringement of Safety Car as he held on enough to keep his fourth career win. With Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc finishing with the timing of 7,595 seconds behind, Sergio Perez registered another win.

Ferrari’s duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz finished second and third respectively to complete the podium alongside Checo. 

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!