Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

The South Africa Cricket Board has unveiled a 15-member squad for the Men’s World Cup, which is scheduled to be held in India from next month. Temba Bavuma will continue to lead the Proteas, whereas his deputy has not been named. However, it is being speculated that the vice captaincy might be handed to Aiden Markram or Quinton de Kock. 

Also Read:  BCCI announces India’s 15-member squad for ODI World Cup 2023

The squad looks settled and showcases balance in all the three aspects of the game. The fast-bowling unit will be spearheaded by Kagiso Rabada, alongside Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Marco Jansen and Sisanda Magala. 22-year-old fast bowler, Gerald Coetzee, who made his name in the SA20, has also been included in the squad for the marquee event.

The spin department will be handled by Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj, with Aiden Markram. The Proteas have selected a strong batting lineup which consists of several big names including the likes of Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram and Rassie van der Dussen. De Kock is expected to keep the wickets, with Klaasen being his backup. 

Notably, South Africa will open their World Cup campaign against Sri Lanka on October 7 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. They will play an exhibition match against Afghanistan on September 29 followed by a match against New Zealand on October 2.

South Africa ODI World Cup squad:

Temba Bavuma (C), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock(wk), Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen(wk), Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen