Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The 2024 edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup ended with India being crowned as the T20 world champions for the second time. The team, under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy and Rahul Dravid’s guidance, edged past South Africa to lift the T20 silverware after 17 long years and end their ICC trophy drought after 11 years. This was Sharma’s third consecutive ICC final in last 13 months or so. 

The tournament saw several players stepping up for their respective roles and giving in their best shot to help the side get over the line. All 20 teams that participated in the edition had a few names, who outshone rest of their teammates and delivered hero-like performances.

SportsTiger's T20 World Cup 2024 Team of the Tournament

As curtains came down on the thrilling and exciting month-long contest, SportsTiger brings to you the team of the tournament. 

Openers: Rohit Sharma (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)


Former India T20I captain Rohit Sharma was in his red-hot form this year, and delivered exactly where it was needed the most. The talisman batter came up with 257 runs averaging at 36.71 and strike rate of 156.70. In eight innings, Sharma hit 15 massive sixes and ensured the team got off to flying start. Afghanistan’s batting star Rahmanullah Gurbaz hit three fifties and came up with a total of 281 runs with an average of 35.12 and strike rate of 124.33.