Thiruvananthapuram locals to stage protest against BCCI for excluding Sanju Samson from T20 World Cup squad: Report

Samson fans are expected to carry his pictures and banners in the opening match of the T20 series between India and South Africa in Thiruvananthapuram.

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 14 September 2022 07:03 PM


The All-India Senior Selection Committee met on Monday and picked the 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia, scheduled to start next month. Indian speedsters Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel made it to the squad after regaining fitness, but the likes of Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi and Deepak Chahar settled as reserve players.

While Dinesh Karthik grabbed a lot of limelight for his 'dream-come true' inclusion in the T20 squad, seasoned batter Sanju Samson started trending on Twitter after his exclusion from the squad for the marquee tournament.

According to fresh reports, locals of Thiruvananthapuram, capital of the southern Indian state of Kerala are mulling to stage a protest against Sanju's exclusion from the squad during the upcoming home series against South Africa. 

Indian wicket-keeper batter and skipper of IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals, Sanju Samson, who hails Kerala, is getting a lot of backing from his home state fans who are likely to attend matches against South Africa with Samson's pictures on it and protest against BCCI during India vs South Africa home series.

The same has been claimed as per a report carried by news agency IANS. Meanwhile, b oth India and South Africa are set to engage in a bilateral contest in India which will start on September 28 with three-match T20 internationals followed by as many as ODIs.

Earlier, social media was flooded with posts questioning the selectors' decision to exclude Sanju from the squad. Another noteworthy exclusion from the squad is Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. However, Jadeja was unavailable for selection after sustaining a knee injury during the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022 in the United Arab of Emirates and underwent surgery in Mumbai. 

Rishabh Pant and veteran wicket-keeper batter Dinesh Karthik are part of the 15-member squad as wicketkeeper options. India's batting is studded with the presence of skipper Rohit Sharma, vice-captain KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, all-rounder Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda and Dinesh Karthik. 

While Bumrah will lead the pace attack along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh and Harshal Patel. Meanwhile, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel will take care of the spin department. Other than the South Africa home series prior to the T20 World Cup, India will also host Australia for 3 T20Is starting September 20.


Join our Family Today!