Cricket has evolved a lot from when it was first played. While umpires had to trust their instincts to come up with a decision in the early days, they have technology at hand to aid them in making a decision these days. However, technology cannot be right all the time and we have multiple pieces of evidence to prove it.
The latest example of a technical error came up in the third ODI between Australia and England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 22 November. Although Australia won the match emphatically (by 221 runs), the Men in Yellow were left shocked at an incident that took place during the game.
As Australia leg-spinner Adam Zampa was on a roll that night, he was trapping every England batter with his spinning deliveries. In the 30th over of England innings, Zampa almost got Liam Dawson as the batter failed to connect a paddle sweep against the leg-spinner. However, the on-field umpire was not convinced and adjudged the batter not out.
Meanwhile, Zampa was confident that he has trapped Dawson in front of the three sticks and hence asked Pat Cummins to refer the decision to the third umpire. Everything was going as Zampa would have thought until the ball tracking came into use. With the ball pitching in line and no bat/glove involved, the third umpire asked for ball-tracking to check if the batter was out LBW.
However, what followed was pretty shocking for everyone on the ground. The tracker showed the ball turning at almost 45 degrees and missing the off-stump. The bowler and the fielders surrounding him were left in so much shock that they laughed out loud. Zampa, Marnus Labuschagne, and Smith looked the most amused after seeing the replay on the big screen.
The on-field umpire also had a sheepish smile on his face knowing that it was a technical error.
Watch the video here: