Cristiano Ronaldo is undoubtedly one of the greatest footballers of all time. While the Portuguese captain is always in the limelight for the incredible goals he produces on the field, he has this knack of being in the news even when he is not scoring. Just a few days back, CR7 was in the middle of a controversy when the referees disallowed his goal and he threw his captain's armband in frustration.
How did CR7 miss that goal?
It was completely the fault of officials to deny Ronaldo off a goal against Serbia. However, the 36-year-old was himself to be blamed for the goal he missed last night in a world cup qualifier match against Luxembourg. It was probably the easiest chances he has ever missed in his illustrious career.
It was the 78th minute of the match and Portugal were leading the contest 2-1. The Luxembourg defender made a horrible back pass as the ball went straight to the path of CR7 who found himself in acres of space in front of the goal. With all the defenders far from him, Ronaldo only had the goalkeeper to beat to seal the match. However, he shot the ball straight to the goalkeeper, not once but twice. He eventually found the net but was deemed offside as the 36-year-old was clearly left in disbelief.
Watch the video here:
CR7 scores his 103rd senior goal for Portugal
While it was a frustrating outing for Ronaldo, he did have a moment to be happy about when he scored his 103rd international goal for his country. It was in the 50th minute when a perfect cross from Joao Cancelo found Ronaldo in the box. The Portuguese captain found the back of the net and handed his side an advantage early in the second half.
Diogo Jota and Joao Palhinha were the other goal-scorers as Portugal won the match 3-1. With the victory, Fernando Santos' side went to top of Group A in World Cup Qualifiers, alongside Serbia.