A wrong decision from umpire can often give a batter second life, something which is very common in the sport of cricket. However, there are times when only the fielding side is to be blamed for the non dismissal of the batter.
Despite the introduction of DRS (Decision Review System) in big games, it has often been seen that fielding side loses the opportunity to take a wicket because of their reluctance to opt for review. But during a recent game in Women's National Cricket League in Australia, an absolutely bizarre sequence of events unfolded which left everyone stunned.
How lucky can you get as a batter?
It all happened during 14th over of first innings of the match between Queensland and Tasmania. Tasmanian pacer Belinda Vakarewa bowled a brilliant good-length delivery which went past the outside edge of Queensland batter Georgia Voll. However, there was a slight confusion in the middle when it was seen that the bails had been dislodged.
Considering there was no appeal from the fielding side, the commentators assumed that wicketkeeper's gloves might have caused the same. But the mystery got clear when the replays were shown which left everyone baffled. It was the ball which had clipped the bails which meant that Voll had actually been clean bowled but she survived because no one appealed and the game went on.
Watch the video here:
As it turned out, Georgia Voll could not make the most out of the second life as she was destined to go back to the pavilion on the day. She could only add 5 more runs after the incident and was dismissed on 31 by Sarah Coyte. Queensland scored 223/6 in 48 overs and the revised target (after D/L method) was chased down comfortably by Tasmania.