Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The highly anticipated clash of  T20 World Cup 2024   between India and Pakistan is underway at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. The near neighbours make for one of the fiercest cricketing rivalries in the sport and only appear in International Cricket Council (ICC) tournaments. The Men in Blue and the Men in Green are back on the field after making their last appearance in the ODI World Cup 2023 in India. 

But the start wasn’t the one that was expected. Just in time for toss in New York, rain came into play, delaying the toss. However, after a brief halt, the two skippers, Rohit Sharma and Babar Azam took the field for the toss. The two skippers were accompanied by former Indian cricketer Ravi Shastri and ICC Match Referee David Boon at toss and during this time, Rohit Sharma was involved in a hilarious incident.

The 36-year-old, who will eye to end India’s title drought in ICC events, forgot the coin in his pocket, leaving his opposition skipper Babar Azam, along with David Boon and Ravi Shastri in splits. The video of the incident is now doing rounds on social media.

After winning the toss, Pakistan skipper Babar Azam confirmed that Imad Wasim, who missed the opening match against USA due to a rib injury comes in place of out-of-form Azam Khan. 

India vs Pakistan Playing XI

India: Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (C), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir.